9 Proven Tips to Make Cold Showers Part of Your Daily Routine

The no BS guide to doing what can at first seem insurmountable

Jamie Jackson
Better Advice

--

This guy looks cold — Photo by Tim Wilson on Unsplash

Each morning I run an ice-cold shower and I stand beside it, looking into the bathroom mirror and telling myself I can get under that freezing waterfall.

And for better or worse, each day, I do.

I’ve done this now for two years, and the mental resistance never goes away, it never becomes easy.

I began the ritual as part of the Wim Hof Method, a daily breathing and cold exposure routine that claims to boost immunity. Many trials and studies back up these claims, but as a study of n=1, I can say it’s certainly helped me with my autoimmune issues.

Whatever the case, and whatever your motivation to cold shower, I’m here to tell you if I can do it, you can do it. I hated the cold. I was the guy who wore gloves in spring, I was the one complaining about the air con in the office, I couldn’t even stand a cool breeze from an open window.

I had to learn how to embrace the cold after avoiding it for decades. As you can imagine, it’s been a real learning curve but it is all possible.

So, here is what I learned, my advice on how to approach what can seem like the most daunting of tasks: Daily cold…

--

--

Jamie Jackson
Better Advice

Between two skies and towards the night. // Email me: jamiejacksonati [at] gmail [dot] com