I Broke a Cardinal Rule of Energy Conservation Earlier Today

And my productivity is suffering because of it.

Corey Fradin
Better Advice

--

You’d think I’d know better, considering how I write a great deal about productivity. But it’s a funny thing being human, sometimes you forget.

It reminds me a lot of this quote by author, James Clear:

“People keep reading self-help and revisiting the same ideas because that’s precisely what we need: to be reminded. The problem is not that information is unhelpful, but that attention is fleeting. Nobody focuses on one idea every minute of the day.

Good books refocus the mind.”

My Realization

In my case, it’s not a specific book that helped me realize my error, it’s the fact that it’s 11 AM and I’m exhausted. I’m sleepy, cloudy, distracted. I’m sitting here trying to figure out what to write and I got nothin’.

Just sleepiness.

Which is actually kind of meta considering that I’m now writing the story that I was struggling to write, but we can just ignore that. Instead, let me tell you where I went wrong and how you can avoid it in the future.

Cardio in the Morning

--

--