I Stopped Checking My Phone Before 11 am And It Completely Changed My Morning Routine

“Lose an hour in the morning, and you’ll spend all day looking for it.”

Aleid ter Weel
Better Advice

--

Photo by Yaroslav Shuraev on Pexels

Scrolling my phone used to be a part of my morning routine.

I would check the news, swipe social media, and answer messages all within the first hour after waking up.

But all this useless swiping at the breakfast table took time and attention away from tending to my family, working more efficiently, and growing my business.

So when I discovered digital minimalism three years ago, my morning routine was one of the first things I changed.

Because as 19th-century philosopher Richard Whately once said:

Lose an hour in the morning, and you will spend all day looking for it.

Now, you don’t need to become a digital minimalist to minimize your screen time in the morning and reap the benefits.

Here are my top 10 ideas for starting your day without your phone. Just pick 1–2 that spark your interest and try them out for yourself.

Buy an Alarm Clock

--

--

Aleid ter Weel
Better Advice

Articles on digital minimalism, living offline, and happiness | Support my work and get unlimited access on Medium: https://aleid-tw.medium.com/membership