I Stopped Meditation and Stayed Mindful

How I harness awareness to stay present

Yiqing Zhao
Better Advice

--

Photo by Katerina Jerabkova on Unsplash

My acting technique teacher always starts the class with a very simple, one-minute meditation:

We are told to stand still and notice our thoughts. Whenever we have a thought, we lift a pinky finger.

Then he uses a singing bowl and asks us to raise our hands when the sound is gone.

Then, we open our eyes, focus on a spot on the floor, notice the details, and sit down for the class.

I incorporated meditation into my morning routine after graduation. On some really stressful days, I had to stop and meditate. Even for just 5 minutes.

Meditation helped me through my most difficult times, but I stopped doing it a while ago. I realized meditation is a means to an end — mindfulness, and I found it more powerful to achieve through cultivating self-awareness.

Awareness VS Mindfulness

  1. What’s the difference between awareness and mindfulness?

According to this journal, the difference between mindfulness and awareness is that, while both refer to states of mind, mindfulness involves a lot more introspection and thought process adjustment. Awareness is more sensory-based and is the mental concept that allows…

--

--