Mastering This One Learning Mindset Will Set You Up For A Lifetime of Success

Michael Lim
Better Advice
Published in
7 min readMay 16, 2021

--

Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

No one unwilling to be a foolish beginner can learn — Jordan Peterson.

I am not particularly talented at anything.

I was a pretty bad student in high school. I scored below the national average for English and didn’t even bother doing any maths subjects in my final year. I had poor behavior in school and didn’t get along well with many of my teachers.

As a result, I was put in an alternative education program for young boys at risk for dropping out of high school. This is where most of the boys that other teachers didn’t want to deal with were put together.

Okay, so academics weren’t great. What about sport?

Well, I was okay at sports but never really excelled in anything specific. I played soccer and golf but never really had any desire to improve myself. I wasn’t terrible as much as comfortably mediocre.

If you had asked my teachers or parents about my potential they wouldn’t have much information to go on. I was destined for an average life by all accounts.

I wouldn’t say that I am overly successful now but I can say I have excelled in life considering my humble beginnings.

--

--

Michael Lim
Better Advice

I help solopreneurs add $2-5k to their one-person business through my Limitless Writing System™ | Start here -> https://michaellim.ck.page/crashcourse 🚀