New Rules for “Kill Them With Kindness”

Strategic advice on how to be kind in the workplace and not get taken advantage of.

Johnny T. Nguyen
Better Advice

--

Successful multiethnic business colleagues in modern office
Photo by Alexander Suhorucov on Pexels

Only once in my career did the philosophy of, “kill them with kindness” not work for me. Over the span of almost 25 years, from intern to executive management, I’ve been privileged to have a wide variety of positions and therefore interact with a lot of people. And all throughout it, core to me is to lead with kindness to everybody. It’s resulted in my successful and utterly satisfying career (with more to go!), but there are several important nuances to that phrase that is crucial.

“Wherever there is a human being, there is an opportunity for a kindness.” — Seneca

These kindness nuances are key to implementing this strategy successfully without being taken advantage of by others. One of the most common problems I see on projects is when coworkers fail to do their job, and it’s up to you to do more, otherwise, the project may fail. I say, let them fail. Doesn’t sound exactly like kindness, so let’s dig deeper.

How to be a Killer With Kindness

Being kind in the workplace should look exactly the same as if you’re not in the workplace. Take a moment and let that sink in.

“As to the kindness you…

--

--

Johnny T. Nguyen
Better Advice

All about the adventure of positivity & productivity. I’ve turned into my parents and now wake up before 6 AM… & crush it. 🔅 www.theventureout.com