The Secret to Speaking is in Listening. I Am Behind in My Lessons.

“When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. But if you listen, you may learn something new.”

Nishith Goyal
Better Advice

--

Source: DALL.E 3

Having a daughter at home is special. Mine is young and awaits her opportunities to speak to me. She has a special way of showing when she feels unheard.

When she’s excitedly telling me about her day, and I’m not fully listening, her hands stop moving so much. Her eyes, which are usually bright and full of fun stories, look at my phone and then back at me. She speaks a bit softer, maybe hoping I’d try harder to listen. These small signs tell me she wants me to really listen, not just hear her words.

Active listening is my biggest lesson from parenting. Yes, I am learning it each day. A lot of times, I fail, and in a few days, I win over my instincts.

Mahatma Gandhi once said, “To be a good talker, first, you must be a good listener.”

It’s a profound thought, and in our fast-paced, always-on world, it rings truer than ever.

Question—

Many of us, including me, have often pondered: “What should I do if I need to say something to someone, but

--

--

Nishith Goyal
Better Advice

Author of two books, Creator - Be Better Bit-By-Bit, Long-distance runner, diarist, Podcaster. Writes about Journaling, Self, and Positive Impact.