I Got Drunk Last Night, Now Give Me All The Fast Food

Jason Ley
Better Drinking Culture
2 min readApr 24, 2017

Earlier this year, Medical Daily published Why Binge Drinking Is Followed By Binge Eating. Researchers used mice to test their theory, which showed a correlation between alcohol consumption and “shameful” eating that typically follows a night of partying.

Although they acknowledge it’s obviously unethical to conduct the same experiment on humans, I don’t know that they’d even need to. I’d wager that there’s a reason why Taco Bell has marketed Fourth Meal, why their drive-thru line is always backed up from midnight until 3 a.m., why I used to house two or three Whopper Juniors with cheese on my way into work the morning after a night of drinking, and why Sunday Funday brunch is the cool thing to do.

I love Jimmy John’s, and have wondered how many days in a row I could eat there before tiring of it. However, the half-dozen or so times I’ve ever polished off The J.J. Gargantuan, I drank too much the night before. Now I know that Captain & Cokes, Jäger Bombs, and whatever the cheapest beers were triggered the Agrp neurons in my brain to eat like a garbage disposal.

Because science, I will continue to pace myself to avoid that walk of shame through the Golden Arches the morning after.

--

--

Jason Ley
Better Drinking Culture

Author #TheDrinkersManifesto | Emmy-nominated Storyteller | Certified Cicerone® | Published Journalist | Speaker on Mental Health & Mindful Drinking