Living without an overhead

Why I moved out of a great apartment

Arijit Dasgupta

--

I always thought that I should compromise with the place I live. It should be great, and it should feel like home. And when I found a place like that, I was very very happy that I finally found a place which I can call home. I moved in with two of my friends.

It had bed, cot,table, reading lights, sofas, dining tables, everything I might ever want. We had everything from washing machine to coffee maker. I thought that I would start reading, watch movies, work on my side projects and be happy in the ‘awesome’ apartment.

The place I used to live

Life didn’t turn up as happy as I thought it would.I almost never read. I would sleep most of the time. When I was awake, I used to watch movies and videos, and get me shots of facebook and smokes. The over-comfort was making me lazy. I was going to work late. And we had to maintain that big apartment.I almost never wrote code. And I was always in a financial shortage; As I said, the house was expensive.

It occurred to me that I didn’t earn my comfort, my luxury. It’s true that after a hard day’s work I loved to throw myself in that bed which I know holds all the sleepy awesomeness of the universe, but that didn’t make me happy. I would spend all weekend sleeping and regretting the next day. After three months, I decided to move out with one of my friends.

The place I live now.

It’s better this way. I sleep on the floor. I share my room with my friend. I don’t have any table to work on. I put by books beside my bed. I have to wash my clothes with my hands. My home is unorganized. Clothes hanging here and there. Stuff laying around my bed. I keep my bags near my feet when I sleep, because I don’t have other place to keep it. I sleep without a pillow. I live on nothing except food, clothes, internet connection and a bicycle. Almost nothing can tie me to this place. That’s what I love about my life now. I live without an overhead.

And now, I read, I do productive stuff in my off time (like writing this article), and I save enough money to have fun in the city.

--

--