The Secret to Writing Incredible Blog Posts

I will tell you the secret to being interesting.

Matt Schlicht
3 min readOct 28, 2013

--

People always ask me what they should blog about. Should they write about this fancy topic? This complicated process? This trendy thing that they don’t really know much about but everyone is talking about it?

No. No. NO!

At this point in the conversation I have to stop whoever I am talking to and tell them that they are making a huge mistake. Copying other people’s ideas for blog posts or writing about something you don’t know a lot about is not how you write incredible blog posts.

“Well, Matt, what am I supposed to write about then!? Am I incapable of writing something that people will want to read?”. No, not at all! Quite the opposite, you just need to understand how to come up with blog post ideas.

I’m going to tell you the secret to writing great blog posts right now. It works, I pinky promise.

  1. Write about what you know. It’s easy to think that the things you know aren’t very interesting. Why? Because you already know them! Does that mean that everyone else in the world knows these things too? No, no they do not! Does that mean that everything you know is incredibly interesting to everyone else in the world? Not at all, most of it is probably pretty boring. Do you know some things that a lot of other people don’t know and would find interesting? Totally, and this is the sweet spot, these are the ideas you blog about.
  2. Write about unique experiences that you have had. Do I want to read about how you do the same things I do? Nope, that’s boring. I want to read about the things that you have done that I have never done. I want to live vicariously through you and see life from a different perspective. I want to be inspired! Make a list of experiences you have had that nobody you have ever met in person has gone through. Write about those experiences, they will be great blog posts. Do it and see what happens.
  3. Be concise, to the point, interesting, and engaging! Is it it fun to listen to that guy at the party who speaks in the same tone of voice, just keeps talking and talking, and has no apparent direction or point? NO! If you’re like me that person can make you want to jump out the nearest window, because anything would be better than listening to him. You want to be the guy (or gal!) at the party who engages the audience, lets their guard down, asks questions, and gets excited. When writing blog posts, make sure you write like the most popular person at the party talks, don’t try to sound professional and boring.

That’s it. That’s the secret. You are more interesting than you realize. It’s all about writing about your ideas and experiences that most people haven’t experienced in a way that is engaging and informative.

Why do I want you to start writing incredible blog posts? Because I want to read them. I crave stories, information, and unique perspectives, and I know for a fact that there are amazing blog posts currently hiding away in your head. Stop what you’re doing right now and start writing your first post!

Do you need someone to look over your blog post draft, tell you if your blog post idea is good, or give you more tips?

Need a quote from me for the post you’re working on?

I would love to help, hit me up on Twitter @MattPRD.

P.S. If you found value in this article, it would mean a lot to me if you hit the recommend button.

Want to get an email when I publish my next post? Click here to sign up for my email newsletter.

--

--

Matt Schlicht

Building and writing about AI as CEO/engineer at Octane AI . Scout for Boost VC's $90mil sci-fi fund. Alum: Ustream, YC, Forbes 30 Under 30 x 2.