Forever Young

“I wanna be forever young” — Jay Z

Shail Patel
2 min readJul 28, 2013

I recently downloaded the Thunderspace app, and it’s definitely conjured thoughts of nostalgia for me. I lived in the SF Bay Area for the first 10 years of my life, and then moved out to New Hampshire/various points on the east coast for ~12 years.

After downloading Thunderspace, I realized that for better or for worse there are rarely any thunderstorms in the Bay Area. Thunderstorms were quite common during my formative years on the east coast. When we first moved to New Hampshire, I was quite frightened of them. Loud booms of thunder and strong gales, often accompanied by power loss didn’t exactly have me looking forward to the next storm. As I grew older, and they became more commonplace to me, I became comfortable with them, beginning to look forward to the muggy summers and accompanying storms. When the power would go out, I would sit next to my windowsill, reading a book or just looking outside. Sometimes, I would crack the window open, letting the warm air blow in my face, and the sounds of lightening surround me. Thunderstorms became a place of comfort for me, allowing me to completely clear my mind, to forget all my worries.

When I first got Thunderspace, I didn’t expect it to be that great. I thought it would be like my old clock radio’s sound generator. Thunderspace separates itself from other similar apps with its stereoscopic 3D audio. As soon as I put those headphones on and laid down in my bed, I am transported to another time. A time with none of the daily stresses and tasks required of me today. I was a kid again.

Sometimes you need a break from the rigors of daily life. To harken back to a simpler time. To feel truly young again, to not have a worry in the world. I can turn on an app on my phone, put my headphones on, and be forever young. Take a moment, and think about what makes you feel young and free again. It’s worth knowing.

--

--

Shail Patel

Software Engineer at @BrightRollEng. Lover of watching all sports, teaching math and science, and a particular stuffed bunny named Jeeves