David Edwards
Better Late than Never
Mar 20, 2024

--

Cruel

Photo by Shifaaz shamoon on Unsplash

Today,
shall I be cruel?

Shall I quiet the timid
voices of reason?

Shall I find hunger
in the dark place
where once a soul lived?

Shall I seek out the food
that lies
at the heart of adoration?

Shall I feed
on its hope?

Shall I feed
on its hate?

Shall I feed
on its fear?

Shall I devour it all,
tear its flesh,
drink its spirit,
gnaw on its bones,
smile,
and savor it all?

Only because I can.

* * *

Better Late than Never. Never Give Up.

Thank you for reading
Claps, highlights, and comments are always appreciated
As I launch my new writing career

--

--

David Edwards
Better Late than Never

Healthcare worker and part-time writer. Thanks for reading and all your encouragement as I launch my new writing career!