From Fury to Finesse: Tips for Managing Emotions in the Workplace

Val.I
CREATIVETECH Leaders
3 min readApr 7, 2023
Photo by Sivani Bandaru on Unsplash

Today, I had a frustrating experience with a member of my team. I was really pissed off, but I knew it was crucial for me to stay in control of my emotions and not let them take over. If I had let my emotions get the best of me, I know the situation would have escalated and become even more frustrating for both myself and my team member. So, I made a conscious effort to stay calm and collected, even though I was feeling so angry. It wasn’t easy, but by taking a step back and using some of the techniques I’ve learned over the years, I was able to manage my emotions and handle the situation in a more productive and professional way.

I believe that situations like these are simply a part of our everyday life as managers. But still, today’s conflict provoked me to share my experience with all of you on how to control ourselves in such unpleasant situations. As managers, we may not always be able to control the actions of our team members, but we can control our own reactions and how we respond to difficult situations. This is key to achieving a positive outcome and maintaining healthy relationships with our team members.

However, if you find yourself in a similar situation of frustration, here are some techniques that might help you manage your emotions and end up happily:

Take a deep breath and step away from the situation. Give yourself some time to cool down and process what happened before you react. This will help you approach the situation more rationally and avoid saying something that you might regret later.

Try to put yourself in the other person’s shoes. Maybe they didn’t realize the impact of their actions, or they were dealing with personal issues that affected their behavior. By understanding their perspective, you can approach the situation with empathy and find a solution together.

Reframe the situation. Instead of focusing on what the other person did wrong, think about how you can use this as an opportunity for growth and learning for both of you. This can help you approach the situation with a positive mindset and find a way to move forward.

Try to communicate effectively: When expressing your emotions, be clear and concise. Use “I” statements to convey how you feel without assigning blame. This can help keep the conversation focused on finding solutions rather than escalating conflict.

Try to let it go. The sooner, the better. Holding onto anger and resentment will only harm your own mental health and make it more difficult to work effectively with your team. Once the situation has been addressed, move on and focus on the future.

Last but not least: Remember, our team members are individuals, each with their own strengths and weaknesses. Don’t let one incident overshadow all the hard work and progress you’ve made together. Take the time to address the situation, but also focus on the bigger picture and how you can continue to work together effectively because you as manager have to deliver results and your most powerful weapon is your team.

Ultimately, it’s up to us as managers to set the tone for how we handle difficult situations and to ensure that our teams feel supported and valued. I hope the tips above will help you some day as they helped me today. :)

BR,

Valentina

--

--

Val.I
CREATIVETECH Leaders

Product Marketing, Digital Marketing, Leadership, MarComms, Project management, Mental Health, Work-life Balance, Travelling :)