Quantifying My 4 Years of Writing on Medium

Is earning from writing on Medium sustainable?

Elye - A One Eye Dev By His Grace
WriterTips

--

Picture by 3844328 on Pixarbay

Just like any other Medium writer, I wonder how my writing on Medium has fared over the years. How do I measure it? Anything I need to change to improve? And most importantly, is what I’m doing sustainable?

On the web, there is not much to use as a reference point. Medium does publish some statistics through their monthly emails. Below is the data for April 2020.

  • 64% of writers or publications who wrote at least one story for members earned money.
  • 6.9% of active writers earned over $100.
  • $17,126.40 was the most earned by a writer, and $5,099.90 was the most earned for a single story.

So I know I’m in the 6.9% category. But I want to know more.

Medium is kind enough to provide us with Medium Writer stats and the Medium Partner Program dashboard to let us know how we are doing.

I did a little work and extracted the data to put into an Excel file, and then processed it. Here I’m sharing with you my findings. Hopefully, they will help as a reference point for you.

--

--