By the Grace of Dog

“Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.”

Navneet Potti
Better, not More
2 min readOct 12, 2021

--

Hard relate to that gem from Groucho Marx? High-five, wherever you are.

Anyone who knows me reasonably well knows how much of a part dogs play in my life. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been at my happiest in the presence of these four-legged wonders of evolution. (Or creation, for the more theistically inclined.)

11-year-old me would argue that there wasn’t a better pillow than the belly of a floofy German Shepherd. 20-something me has seen acts of selflessness by a Dachshund that humans don’t seem capable of. And my midlife crisis became that much easier in the presence of the world’s most chilled-out Labrador Retriever whose credo seems to be “Let that shit go.”

No hyperbole, I’ve been a better student of dogs than I have of most “hoomans”. More so when the lessons have been about leading a fuller life and having deeper, meaningful-er relationships.

Today’s post is based on a wonderful Twitter thread of some of those lessons that have stuck with me the most. (Kind of like a dog will.)

Bonus: If you’re interested in further reading on why they’re the coolest, check out the book Dogs Never Lie About Love by Jeffrey Masson.

(If you enjoyed this post and would like more such recommendations as I write them, consider joining my spam-free WhatsApp group at:

https://bit.ly/Productivity-Navneet-P

1–2 posts a week, 0 spam, and ∞ effort to make it worth your time and attention.)

--

--