7 Swift Extensions Every iOS Developer Should Use

If you love extensions, this is for you. If not, I’ll change your mind

Kelvin Tan
Swiftly Engineered iOS

--

Image of all-in-one desktop.
Photo by PolaroMagnet on Unsplash

Why Do We Need Extensions?

You need extensions because they save you time from re-creating the same thing over and over again. Don’t you find it tiring sometimes that you have to type it over and over again?

In my opinion, using an extension is almost equivalent to working hard and working smart at the same time. Let that sink in a little bit and you will appreciate the use of extensions.

Extensions is like a module component on your project that can be moved from one project to another project. So, if it makes your life easier, why not use them?

I’ve built multiple apps, and I am sharing with you some of the extensions that are used in most of my projects. I hope it helps you as much as it helps me.

Setting up a XIB View

This will be particularly useful if you are always creating XIB. Plug the following into your extension and just write one line of code and you are done instantiating the XIB.

--

--

Kelvin Tan
Swiftly Engineered iOS

Father, husband, software engineer. Building software and building a family, one line of code and one moment at a time. 🚀💻💙 http://ko-fi.com/kelvintanzy