5 Motivating Reasons to Never Sleep In

Ian Warner
The Habit Stacker
Published in
4 min readJun 7, 2016

“If you want to be successful you have to be willing to give up sleep.” — Eric Thomas

I had gotten myself to the point where I was able to wake up at 3:10 AM for about 5/7 days of the week on most days. I was still pissed at myself, though, and when that happens, I think out loud by writing so someone else can learn from it too.

We are in a weird place in our culture where people love to show studies that we all don’t get enough sleep. The issue I have is that most people don’t get enough sleep because we are always distracted and wasting time.

Bed Time Looks Like This

Stay up watching some TV show
Get stuck scrolling through Instagram
Get stuck in a texting conversation
etc…

We take time that could be spent sleeping and waste it. When you know you have to get up early it adds some intensity to your day because you know you have to go to bed a bit earlier.

Remember What We Do to Little Kids

We see parents bring their children to the park or let them play outside simply for the fact of burning them out so that they go to sleep early.

I quickly learned that this is what happens when you start to wake up earlier. I get so tired that by the end of the day that when my bedtime comes I am knocked out cold immediately, and I get some of the most quality sleep I have ever had in my life.

Most people are too scared to push themselves and go to bed earlier and wake up early because it requires discipline. You don’t know what getting up one hour earlier for 90 days will do until you do it.

Here is some motivation to change your mind. It applies to anyone who wants to wake consistently at the same time and make it earlier than they usually get up.

It is a Self-Reflecting Process

Every time you hit snooze, every time you don’t get up you have to walk in that bathroom and brush your teeth and stare at the reason. It is not anyone else’s fault. What time you get up has everything to do with you.

I had two days in a row of sleeping in for the first time in a really long time recently. One day I did it on purpose the other day I hit snooze without even thinking about it. I was so upset at myself, and I came up with a strategy to prevent this. I started putting my alarm far from my bed, so I had to get up.

It is draining process mentally because your body screams at you “STAY IN BED!” I get up because it represents my commitment.

It Builds Will Power

No matter what time you get up, there will be days where you feel like you are just too tired to get up. You won’t believe how fast the night went. These are the best mornings.

On these mornings, you get to show off your will power, and you get to start your day doing so. Most don’t realize how powerful it is to have an alarm go off early, get up when you didn’t want to and go and put in work.

You Get to Be Different

The truth is that not many people get up at the same time every day. We are trained to look for a reason to sleep in like holidays, weekends, days off, we sleep in because we can, but we forget how valuable time is. We only get so much!

You Start Each Day With Success

Snooze is so damaging because you start your day off saying “I will do it later.” When you hit that evil button and tell life that you are not ready to live yet.

When you hit that button, you show this world that procrastination feels good.

In reality, you are telling the world that you are not strong enough to do what it takes to be successful. You may be able to lie to yourself to get away from that thinking, but that is the truth.

When you set an alarm before going to sleep that is setting a contract with yourself. When you hit snooze, you are breaking that contract with yourself. If you can’t hold a contract with yourself what will you do to others?

You Get More For Each Hour

In the same way, that every night of sleep is not the same quality, every hour of work is not the same quality. Some hours are just more valuable and more productive than others.

Early morning hours come with more focus. You had to do so much to get up that early; no one wants to wake up at two hours earlier to spend their time on Instagram.

When I get up, I have time to think and work on important tasks I need to get in with 9inepoint.

Next Steps

  1. Set your alarm for the same time daily
  2. Place the alarm at least five steps from bed
  3. Get your feet on the floor
  4. Go and work for what you want
  5. Sign up below

--

--