​A guide for talented people who can’t find their way

Varsha Srivastava
Better You
Published in
3 min readAug 28, 2017

Capabilities differ for everyone. Someone is born with an x-factor, some people develop skills through the situations they come across in life (family background, schooling, friends’ circle etc), some instill them along the paths they choose for their careers. And more often than not, many people let their skills go to waste due to a mere lack of direction.

A lot of mediocre people burn hard, and shine. They follow their dreams with strong determination. But today we will discuss about the people who are simply born with certain qualities, but are unable to utilize them to their utmost. Of course, they do well in life anyway, as they are better than half the people. But after it’s all said and done, the roles of the two kinds of people stand exchanged. Sometimes an average person with a negligible background outshines those who are used to standing out. Why?

Because the bright child is busy handling too many accounts at once. GK- check. Fitness- check. Reading- check. Networking- check.

See what they forget? Career, it is.

A friend of mine who aspires to become a Bollywood director landed in Mumbai 5 days ago. Today he told me he was working with celebs like Priety Zinta and Bobby Deol since the day after he arrived.

What made it so easy for him? The answer is the hard work he put that no one saw. He had been grinding since over a year working on movie making.

What this conversation with him reminded me was that although I had taken some on-and-off experience for my dream of becoming a writer, I hadn’t been working just enough. It is true that I’m good enough to be employed by most of the good companies, but a strong portfolio would get me companies I could only dream of working with. But I don’t have that portfolio yet.

So, dear readers, why not take a lesson from this? While you understand your capabilities and trust yourself to see good days one day, why not give your all NOW? I’ve found the key to success for you: FOCUS. You’ll do better than others, trust me. You are the kind that would look pleasing, have a beautiful handwriting in the world of computers, and would eat healthier than others, but right now you need to focus on that one goal. You have to put everything aside and work on that ONE thing you’re already good at, but have started taking it for granted. Hustle hard, for weeks, months or years, but only in the forward direction- do not go sideways. You’ll have it.

As for me, I’m going to focus on my blog and writing. I’m going to delete the mess and organize all my pieces of writing. And I’m going to add to my portfolio on a daily basis, whether I’m in the mood to or not.

--

--

Varsha Srivastava
Better You

Professional Content Writer. Enthusiastic about making everything better.