Day 9

Garrett Beckman
BetterHalfofABeckman
6 min readJun 10, 2017

Tonight starts my journey back to Chicago. However, I still have a little over half a day in Rome. I can eat a fair amount in a half a day. I started the day off the way I did yesterday, with a wonderful and simple breakfast of toast, marmalade, espresso, and juice.

I did not eat that much because I knew I was going to have a big lunch as my last meal in Rome. I had my eyes set on what Padre described as some of the best pasta he’s ever had. The place is called ‘Da Michele’ and is close the Basilica San Maria Maggiore which is 1 of the 4 major Basilicas. I went as saw all 4, it’s a little bit of a trek, but totally worth it. This restaurant is situated on the street that connects St. John the Latern and San Maria Maggiore Basilicas, 2/4 major basilicas.

I got there too early and they weren’t opened yet. So I went and did what I love to do. Sit. Sit and drink. Man I love sitting and drinking. Except it was like 11:30 so I got a cappuccino instead.

I sat here for like an hour to make sure they were open, because I was not about to walk up hill again to find they were closed still and have to walk like a sad chubby puppy back to the cafe I was at. But they were! Sweet baby jesus.

I sat down and ordered a glass of wine. What?!?! I know its only like 12:30 at this point, but its my last chance to get wine in Rome or Italy or even Europe for a long time. Plus, day drinking is perfectly acceptable in Europe. American needs to loosen its panties and let the kids have some fun.

So I ordered prosciutto and melon for my antipasti. Yes they have prosciutto and melon, no Pinterest did not make it up. Soccer moms Pinterest do not invent every food craze. Plus this was waaaaaay better than anything a soccer mom could try and execute. Salty. Sweet. Juicy. The prosciutto melts in your mouth but lingers just long enough so that the melon goes down first and then you end with the wonderful porky saltiness of the cured ham.

I then ordered the Della Casa al al Salmone. I must say it was incredible. I know I say that a lot. But I am not exaggerating. Rome and Palermo and Barcelona has all had amazing food. Everyones recommendations have been awesome and totally worth going. This goes to show you to trust your friends and what they have to say. The best way to find good restaurants is by word of mouth not yelp.

The pasta is homemade and the salmon comes ‘mashed’ in a delicious, smokey, cream sauce. It was kind of like a fishy, smokey, vodka sauce. But like 1000000000x better than any vodka sauce in the states. Creamy, smokey, a nice sweetness from the tomato, and saltiness from the parmesan. The chef really knew what he was doing. It was then garnished with some parsley. Did I mention the pasta is made, in house, by that guy right there on the other side of my wine glass. Utter perfection; chewy, perfectly al dente, a little spongey as it soaks up the sauce. Probably the best pasta dish I’ve ever had, and as a kid who loves to eat, I’ve had a lot. I honestly almost ordered a second helping. Padre, this was a great recommendation. Plus there were no tourists here, a real hidden gem.

I then ended the meal with a ‘digestivo’ of limencello. Served ice cold, straight out of the freezer.

It was truly a great way to end my time in Rome.

Oh yeah, haha, I forgot. I also got some more gelato. Not only is Rome obsessed with gelato, Padre also told I would love this place. Since I trust that man with my life, of course I am going to go where he tells me. This place was called “Punto Gelato” across from a coffee shop called Eustachio which from what I was told was awesome. So shoutout Padre for never steering me wrong.

This here, is coconut and dark chocolate hazelnut, made on site, in the back of the shop. Topped with a fresh wafer and house made panna (Italian whipped cream)

Super dense and chocolatey. The coconut had real sweetened bits of coconut in it, it was a great contrast of light and florally coconut and dense rich chocolate. This stuff was doooooope. Gelato>Ice cream. Any day. All day. I don’t care what you say. You’re wrong. Wrong.

I really wish I had more time to explore and eat in Rome. Theres definitely some great food there.

Now off to Dublin!

*Edit* I was planning on grabbing some late night fish and chips, however the airbnb I stayed at was literally nowhere near anything, plus it was like 50 degrees and raining. So i went to bed hungry. But heres a picture anyways.

So this is my last post for this series. I hope to still do some food blogging. I want to start a Michelin Star or Michelin Recommended restaurants in Chicago series. But I am open to suggestions of what you guys would like to read about. Hopefully food related.

Rankings of Cities. Criteria; Deliciousness: (1–5): Cost: (1–10)

Barcelona Deliciousness:6 Cost: 1.5 Score: 4

Palermo Deliciousness (street food got repetitive):5 Cost:2 Score: 2.5

Rome Deliciousness: 7 Cost: 4 Score: 1.75

Personally I think I liked Rome the best, but I’m boujee like that. I like unnecessarily expensive things. Barcelona had the best food and variety of food for super cheap. Booze was also really cheap there. Palermo was right in the middle but hit really close to home because of my heritage.

Thank you all for reading. Heres my stupid face on top of the Cathedral di Palermo.

--

--