How You Can Reduce The Risk Of Microplastics

How To Reduce Your Exposure To Microplastics

And help save ourselves and the planet.

Shelley Moore
Betterism
Published in
7 min readFeb 6, 2020

--

A few years ago, I had never heard of microplastics. While I recycled and composted, I was ignorant of the huge negative impact plastic was having on our health and the planet.

I was putting my son’s lunch in BPA-free plastic containers and did not think twice about buying plastic party favors and bags of balloons. I stored food in plastic, used plastic wrap and supported disposable cutlery, plates, cups and straws when it was convenient for me.

Then I started reading and learning.

I started reading more about single-use plastics, microplastics and nanoplastics. And I started learning about their negative impact on humans, animals and our planet.

That began a shift, in how I act and live.

My intention with this article is to provide some practical suggestions on how we all can help create a healthy and sustainable future.

Microplastics

Plastic is almost impossible to avoid. It’s in thousands of single-use items like cups, bags, cutlery and straws. It’s in toys…

--

--

Shelley Moore
Betterism

Nutrition Nerd 🥑 Lifelong Learner 📚 Unschooler 🌱 Outdoor Enthusiast 🏞 Grateful Mama 👶🏻 World Traveler 🌍 Connector 🔗 — Join me! 💛🙏🏼✨☀️!