Why you should always carry a notebook and a pen (or a pencil)…..

Mary Ann Alexander
Betterism
Published in
2 min readMay 6, 2018

--

If you are bored and waiting for someone or something, use your time to jot down words and phrases, stories, ideas for stories, thoughts and feelings in a notebook. Or just doodle.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

It was one of those networking events. A breakfast networking event. Past the food table with scrambled eggs that had oozed out of their goodness, hi-s to the person in front of me and behind me in the queue. Get some cold toast. Hmm. Now where to sit? Gosh it is crowded in here. Everyone is talking, yes.

But looks like they are stuck at their tables and chairs. I plonk myself down. Make room between my feet for my over-sized bag. I tried to move my chair to the right, oops, bump, sorry to the person on the right. Don’t want to bump the person on the left, again. Squished in a small crowded place, hardly any edge-room, leave alone wiggle-room. How can I network when I can’t even move my chair? Person on left, stuck talking to person on her left. Person on the right, grin. We are friends. We both came here — to network.

No one in front of me… yet. I quietly observe, this and that. Listen to the buzzing conversation. Duck from the few social media pics being fostered for cyber-posterity. Interesting shape….those lamps, sunlight filters in, people flit about.

More people squeeze in ….now people in front. It gets more crowded. Hi -how are you. Standard phrases. The networking. I’m so and so. And so and so and so.. I was offered an opportunity, but that was not the one, for me. Kind, though. All done. Back to his smartphone. Person on left still doing her networking routine. My friend, squeezed her thin and lithe self out of the squished table and chair arrangement to go and meet someone who knew someone.

And there I was, with a full-stomach, scrambled eggs that were getting unscrambled in my innards. I burped through the tea. I now was crowded in and with no escape. Until, it beckoned.
From the deep cavern of my big bag, I found my blue notebook.

I sat, and listened to the buzz and used the time. People faded and thoughts became clear.

I used the time to get better. At writing. I took time off - for myself.

It was a good networking event.

I got connected with myself.
Ready to face the next
Networking event.

--

--

Mary Ann Alexander
Betterism

Now in Finland. Rather an introvert, but garrulous when I type ;)…