In grit we trust

Take writing one word at a time and jump in the pit of meanings.

Maria Tiaka
Betterism
2 min readMay 31, 2018

--

Inspiration was never my weak spot. The fluids seem always to be flowing in the most interesting of ways. The problem is the high expectations that rise like walls in front of me whenever I feel like writing something.

Nobody asked me to write in order to get published. All trouble begins from within my mind. I wish to stop that. Life is too short to be the type of person who pressures herself.

So I took up a challenge: “Writing for me”. Today is the first day and it tastes as sweet as freedom.

How so? Well, first of all it’s simplicity in its purest form. All that has to be done is write a few words, hit publish and never bother about it ever again.

The pressure is really low. I can swear, nobody will even read this piece of writing. It feels so good to start something with passion and give zero f***s about others noticing.

Maybe the trick is to leave the start line completely focused on your work and not caring about whether it will find a place in the world.

Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to see my words published one day. I have read enough though to know that something like that is not going to happen overnight, or without me pouring my soul into it.

So I take it one word at a time and the more I write the closer I am to realise:

Everybody wants it bad and everyone is passionate.
But the key is to stop your dreams from ruining your reality
and trust that your
grit will take you there faster

The waters will never be safe enough
and you will never feel ready enough…

So just jump.

--

--

Maria Tiaka
Betterism

Artists must act on a whim, or not at all. Art is my shelter and my voice. Creator of the Passion and Wanderlust blog.https://passionandwanderlust.wordpress.com