I Left My Full-Time Job in 3 Months After 2 Years of Freelancing

Cherry Whipped Cream
Betterism
Published in
5 min readApr 11, 2024

I did what I did.

And I’m not sorry about it.

You might be thinking, “What a spoiled brat!” or “Oh, you’re so lucky to be able to quit any time you want.”

Is it true?

Yes and no.

Yes, I stepped away from a full-time copywriting role just three months after exploring the freelance world for two years. But rest assured, this narrative isn’t about entitlement or an aversion to the 9–6 life.

That life could have been mine, and in many ways, I wanted it to be.

Do I question my decision to leave?

To be honest, I don’t know. However, I’m leaning towards a no. I guess I let the fear and uncertainty of it not being a 100% no due to the stability and societal norms of having to have a full-time job come with it.

Ironic on my part, really.

Will I regret my decision tomorrow? In 2 weeks? In 5 months? Again, I don’t know. No job is perfect. But this one icks me the most.

I managed to land this job within a month of starting my search. It came at the perfect time, during a wonderful family vacation. The virtual interview went well, and I had high hopes lingering in the back of my mind. I had almost forgotten what it was like to work full-time in an office again. This isn’t a hybrid role—although the work can be done remotely—so everyone must go to the office daily. For better or worse, I’ll let you decide.

I accepted the offer almost immediately during the phone call. In hindsight, I would advise my future self not to do that again but to tell HR that I need time to think about the offer and get back to them. I admit I was anxious.

The negotiation over my salary was a bump in the road, yet I was willing to overlook it for the opportunity ahead. They matched my last drawn salary, promising an increase post-probation. This felt manageable, given my confidence in my capabilities and my enthusiasm for this in-house role after years in agency settings.

Three months in, the choice to stay or leave was mine alone. This decision came sooner than expected. Who wouldn’t want to stay in a job for a long time if they could? Opting to leave wasn’t about seeking greener pastures on a whim, but a reflection on what truly matters.

The red flags weren’t subtle. They were overwhelming, turning the workspace into a metaphorical bloodbath.

Tasks that belittled my skills, alongside a culture that oscillated between the genuine and the absurd, painted a stark picture. It was a place where clashing personalities were the norm, and the environment fostered a circus of inefficiency and disarray.

Departmental lunches were less about camaraderie and more about witnessing a regression to less enlightened times. There’s been a worrying backward shift in the way gender respect and equality are viewed. What were once harmless social gatherings have turned into platforms for disrespectful dialogue. Discussions often cross the line, becoming improper and objectifying women.

Witnessing demeaning behaviour and a culture that seemed to thrive on belittlement and exclusion was disheartening. It was draining, so I kept to myself to stay positive.

Choosing to distance myself from such interactions, I found solace and a measure of liberation in solitude. This decision highlighted a clear conflict between my values and the company’s culture.

The company treats lateness harshly, docking pay for it, even though it’s a common issue in my department. Yet, they fired a new guy for being late and taking smoke breaks, which others also do. It’s unfair and shows favouritism.

He was let go unexpectedly, right after a company event, and only learnt about it from HR after a fancy lunch.

It showed a double standard that made it clear: this workplace wasn’t right for me.

Feeling alone in a crowded room can be intimidating. It’s especially challenging when something feels off, reminding us how important it is to remain true to ourselves.

Working with people who prioritise their interests and offer unhelpful feedback—claiming it’s just relayed from someone else—can hinder your performance. It’s challenging to excel in such a setting.

I’m fortunate to be able to do what I want at this stage of my life. My loved ones and close friends are supportive of my decisions. They believe in my abilities and that I truly deserve better. I am grateful. I have many things I want to accomplish and share with the world (and yes, you’re part of that world). I don’t have a full-time job lined up for me yet. I’ll be working on some personal projects in my downtime. I’m starting to feel the drive and excitement in me from when I first started freelancing. Alive.

As I type, a fresh face has joined our team—a new Copywriter. She’s right across from me, a mirror to my early days here, unaware of the challenges she might face.

My journey here has been mine alone, and it won’t necessarily be hers. But for me, this chapter is closing.

I’m leaving, not with regret but with quiet pride in having the courage to honour my own worth.

If you enjoyed my piece, I have a blog where I write literary fiction @ https://thebloomingblossom.blog/

Etsy Shop: https://www.etsy.com/sg-en/shop/LetmewriteforyouCo

--

--