Life Lessons from MF DOOM

the Master of Creative Storytelling

Glen Binger
Betterism
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2021

--

I’ve never been the guy to get wrapped up in the death of a celebrity. But this one hit me hard. MF DOOM passed away late in 2020 and my mind’s not been right since.

He’s been an influence on my musical worldview for many years and with many faces (or should I say voices?), and I wanted to take a moment to reflect back on some of the things I’ve learned from Metal Face (aka King Geedorah, aka Viktor Vaughn, aka Zev Love, et cetera, et cetera). It only feels right that I highlight some of the insight gained from him and his work.

Contrary to what Banko Gotti believes, I’m no rapper. But I do take pride in my ear for music. I’ve dabbled with many instruments and several different production setups over the years. I enjoy using that part of my brain. It’s helped me to see and hear the world differently; just like Doom did from his underground hip hop throne. Though I never pursued a career for my creative passion with music, he’s inadvertently helped me find success with podcast production and my strange form of wordplay.

I owe a great deal of all that inspiration to Mr. Metal Fingers. So here are a few pieces of his wisdom I’ve collected over the years…

1. work on multiple projects at once

--

--