Music- My Subtle Love

Venus Nautiyal
Betterism
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2019

That got lost and found.

photo by Sai Kiran Anagani

This article could very well be about my recent travel to India. Having just finished another travel chronicle with my partner & toddler, that too to my home country where the food, family, friends, fun and frolic literally never stopped- I could have pulled out a million thoughts out of the saga.

You can check out my last travel’s learnings if you haven’t already — where I created an Analogy between Travelling with a Toddler and an Agile Bootcamp.

But, amidst all of it, only a couple of days ago, only when I could manage to pull out my beloved earphones and on my way down the foothills of Himalayas, listened to a mere song, I got completely transported to another world, my mood got so uplifted and the perspective shifted.

And as the songs followed, along with the progression on the scrollbar, I got reminiscent of all the times music has been filling me, us & our lives with its sheer existence.

  1. Bring back Memories- Be it from the childhood radio songs that my parents played when I visited them, to the random tunes at the airport, memories gushed out as I listened to them.
  2. The Enchanting Reconnect- With a wedding during the course of my travel, chanting of bhajans led to a reconnect to my homeland. It was supremely powerful and energetic to be even in presence of such vibes.
  3. Bonding over tunes- So, all you’ve ever heard of Indian weddings- the lengthy ceremonies, the immense gatherings, the fun and dance — is all true. It was even more special to get to the dance floor where I not only got to tap a foot with relatives but even acquaintances and created such a fun bond!
  4. Relaxation- Needless to say again, I felt super energised and relaxed just listening to a tune or two during the few moments that I got along with the crazy schedule and taking care of a toddler.

It’s sometimes so subtle that we forget how these little joys such as listening to music can bring so much positivity and happiness into our lives.

Be Sure to hold onto them.

Only towards the end of my journey did I get to acknowledge and realize at how relatively important part does music play in our lives!

I hope you find the subtle love of your lives if you’ve lost them and they get triggered through the course of your journey too.

--

--

Venus Nautiyal
Betterism

Product Manager | Passionate about art, traveling and spreading compassionate behaviour.