The Day I Walked Away

Patrick Goldman
Betterism
Published in
7 min readAug 3, 2019

--

Walking Away From Your Dream in Order to Achieve Your Greater Purpose

Falling short can be hard, but ensuring you take away lessons from failures and hardships to become a better you is immeasurable.

Since the first time I ever walked across those white lines on a field when I was five years old, I was in love with the sport of football. Growing up I had one goal in life, I wanted to play professionally in the National Football League. Every Sunday I would be glued to the TV watching, first and foremost, the Kansas City Chiefs, but watching every game thereafter. I was obsessed with all aspects of the game and it encompassed every part my day.

When I got older and started to play football more competitively and began to see what the sport was like outside of my rural Midwestern area, I decided to make my goal a little more realistic. After my freshman year of high school, I set the goal to play Division I football for whoever would give me the chance. I wouldn’t let anything stand in my way of achieving my goal and soon every single action I took was all part of a bigger plan to get that coveted scholarship offer.

The school I attended high school at was not what you would call a perennial powerhouse by any means and athletes getting Division I attention was a rarity. But I wouldn’t let that stand in my way and I pushed myself for the next three years to reach my goal.

My senior year came and the offers where there. I had received attention from several…

--

--

Patrick Goldman
Betterism

History Nerd, politics junky, sports fan, and BBQ aficionado. International Security Professional. Trying to make the world a safer, smarter, and better place.