The Power of Perspective

Change the lens, change your life

Antoria K. Lynch
Betterism
3 min readAug 21, 2023

--

Photo by Paul Skorupskas on Unsplash.

Sometimes, it can be a pain to admit some tough truths about ourselves. I’m sure most of us rather stay in a state of mind where we believe that we’re good people, there’s nothing wrong with us and that we’re fine. Well, this is the real world, and in the real world, you have to be real with yourself.

It took me ’til the age of 25 to realize that I was an overly pessimistic person (I’m currently 25 lol). I constantly viewed myself as a victim, immediately went to thinking of the worst possible outcome in every situation and thought that God, for some strange reason, didn’t like me and wanted me to suffer my entire life. I talked down on myself way too often and eventually, I just started hating myself. It was a really tough truth to uncover but weirdly enough, I felt relief.

Knowing this meant only one thing: I can now change things. Self-awareness is a gift that not many of us receive before it’s too late. A lot of people roam this Earth not knowing themselves and not knowing how their thoughts and actions affect not only their lives but also the lives of those around them. There are even people that are aware but choose to ignore it. I don’t blame them though. Once you become aware of these toxic behaviors, you’re then faced with the fact that you’re the reason why shit has been going haywire. Your thoughts and beliefs are the reasons why your love life continues to be plagued by shitty men/women. Your actions are the reason why you feel stuck and demotivated in life. You’re now faced with the fact that it all came down to you.

I lived in a victim mindset for far too long and I needed to make a change. I need to change my perspective of life in general. I had to shift from seeing trials and obstacles as a negative thing, to seeing them as situations that would bring about a positive change in me and in my life. I needed to stop thinking that every bad relationship I experienced meant that I wasn’t worthy of real and healthy love and that every unsuccessful job interview didn’t mean that I was a failure.

I went from a victim mindset to a mindset of abundance.

Many of us aren’t aware of it, but our mind is the greatest tool that God has blessed us with. Our mind is our creation tool; we can create our own realities with it. We can either think or visualize our way into living our dream lives or we can think or visualize our way into a life that brings us no joy, no freedom and no abundance. Every day, we are faced with that choice and whatever choice you make, your actions, your words and your thoughts will reflect that.

What are you choosing today? Whatever it is, I pray you make the right choice.

--

--