Art Spills beyond the Margins

Minakhi Misra
Between Strides
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2017

Chitra Santhe is not just any art exhibition. It is called the Kumbha Mela of art lovers in Bangalore.

Artists from all over the country, from all sections of the society, come together on to the roads of Bangalore to showcase their art.

Here, the rich and the poor are on the same level. All are on the streets and all get the same amount of space.

I was particularly fascinated by the art that spilled beyond the margins.

“You will make me beautiful, na?”
“Put a smile on my face”
“I tore off the back pages of my school notebook before Ma’am could find out.”
“It was difficult counting the stars in the sky. So I plucked them all.”
“Our grandkids buy their toys online now.”
“Because who doesn’t want a plate of fruits that’s always full.”
“They can make you feel pretty for a while.”
“Even Mona Lisa can’t resist my corn and peanuts”
“Gods are the ones on the streets — we’re just kites in their hands looking for sunset skies.”

I found so many stories today hiding between my strides. Will you help me tell these stories to others?

--

--

Minakhi Misra
Between Strides

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, Streetstrider. Cares about Books, Comics, Education, and Gender Rights.