Minakhi Misra
Between Strides
Published in
9 min readFeb 18, 2017

--

Previously:

Chapter 1: Two Lives
Chapter 2: The Spirit of Solitude
Chapter 3: Plausible Distraction

Chapter 4: Filed and Documented

“This is research, Rats. Have you forgotten the old days?”

Punching the papers into the folder did bring in an old feeling of accomplishment that I had learned to live without a long time ago.

“That is evidence of our little adventure for CC to find. Nothing else.”

Rationality was right of course. He always was, except when he was not. He was not right today about the whole plausible distraction charade. But he was right about this one. If CC found them — no, when CC found them — she would not go easy on me. She would not even wait for me to explain.

However, I was not sure if I could do it any other way. This is how I used to do things when I was still going around doing research.

“Everything filed, everything documented.”

I looked at the folder in my hands. It felt right again.

Rationality sighed. He was coming around to the idea, or maybe just relenting to it knowing it was his only logical move.

“You missed out the third part,” he said finally.

“Hunh?”

“Everything filed, everything documented, everything cross-checked.”

“Oh yeah. You are being very helpful today, Rats. What’s the occasion?”

“Shouldn’t you be worried about that? You do realise that you are not supposed to be talking to me. I mean, I am not real and all that. And today, you and I have been at each other’s throat all day. Isn’t that bad for you?”

“Hey, that’s not fair. Rats, you can’t bail on me with research. I need you now. You get it? I need you now.”

“Well, I am sticking around, am I not?”

“Yeah, but…”

“Don’t but me, now. Get down to the cross-checking. Read. Every. Word.”

I opened the folder, and as Rationality commanded, I started reading every single word again.

1: TRANSCRIPT OF EMAILS WITH PAPERPLANEEXPLORER (PPEx)

I Found New Paperplane at the P.V.M. Library
6 Messages

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 12:35 PM

Treasure Aisle <treasureaisle@gmail.com>
To: paperplaneexplorer@gmail.com

Good Afternoon,

I found your note in the copy of Bertrand Russell: The Spirit of Solitude. I am writing to inform you that I have, indeed, found another paperplane message similar to the ones you seem to have gathered yourself. I have attached herewith a scanned copy of the same for your kind perusal. I am sure you will find this addition to your collection most fascinating.

Given your experience with this matter, I was wondering if you would be willing to discuss it further with me. We could meet at the Cafe in the basement of the P.V.M. Library, where my friend makes the best Cappuccino you could ever have. The coffee will be on me completely, so you need not worry about the expense.

Further, I would be obliged if you could share a sample of the digital copies that you have. I am unable to express here the truest extents of my curiosities regarding this whole arrangement of secret messages carried in paperplanes tucked inside books in a public library. I am certain, from the keen interest you have shown thus far to collect and digitise the letters, that you share a kindred curiosity towards this story. I am hoping, therefore, that you understand how truly fascinating this is for me. A sample from your end would go a long way towards establishing us as fellow explorers.

Sincerely,
Treasure Aisle

P.S.
I am keeping my identity anonymous as I am afraid I am not entirely trustful of all this yet. However, be assured that once you confirm our meeting, I will make a full discloser about who I am and how I am involved in this business. I would also, reciprocally, expect candour from your end, so that we could build this new relationship on trust and not on a pile of assumed identities.

__

Paperplane.pdf
(804 KB)

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 2:53 PM

Paperplane Explorer <paperplaneexplorer@gmail.com>
To: treasureaisle@gmail.com

MAN, YOU ACTUALLY FOUND ANOTHER ONE. TELL ME MORE.

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 4:47 PM

Treasure Aisle <treasureaisle@gmail.com>
To: paperplaneexplorer@gmail.com

Good Afternoon again,

I am not sure what you meant by that solitary line of yours. I have already shared all I know of the matter and was, therefore, interested in knowing what your views and opinions about this whole arrangement of conversations through origami paperplanes was. However, you do not seem very keen to part with information from your end, while simultaneously seeking more from me. Were I not aware that this might actually have come as a source of great excitement to yourself, I would have been disposed to believe that your letter to me is very presumptuous and unbecoming. I say presumptuous because you have ignored all my requests without even a cursory remark to them and I say unbecoming because of the tonality of it.

Further, I am not comfortable with the use of the capital letters. I have been told that on the internet, it is irreverent to do so as it signifies loudness of voice. While I am inclined to believe that this loudness can be attributed to your excitement, I would still request you, as humbly as I can, to please not resort to the upper case letters in furthers emails, if any at all.

For purposes of furthering the discussion beyond these minor inconveniences, I would like to iterate the two major requests I had made in my first letter to you. I am wondering if it is possible for us to meet at the P.V.M. Library Cafe to discuss the mystery of the paperplanes, and if it is possible for you to share a sample of the collection for my perusal before any such meeting.

Hope I find you in good health, physically and otherwise,

Sincerely,
Treasure Aisle

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 4:59 PM

Paperplane Explorer <paperplaneexplorer@gmail.com>
To: treasureaisle@gmail.com

Hey, man. First you need to calm down. Second who writes such long emails? Sure will meet you tomorrow at Cafe. 10 sound cool?

About the sample thing, here you go. I think you will like this one.

__

Paperplane_Sample.pdf
(1228 KB)

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 6:08 PM

Treasure Aisle <treasureaisle@gmail.com>
To: paperplaneexplorer@gmail.com

Thank you so much for the sample. I apologise if my letters seem laced with displeasure. I did not intend offence. I was simply expressing my discomfort regarding the nonchalance of the statement.

However, that is in the past, now. We are now fellow explorers in this quest for Paperplanes. 10 AM is fine by me. I was wondering then as to what would be our manner of introduction to each other. We have never met before and there is no way for either of us to recognise the other in the crowded cafeteria. So, if we can agree upon something towards that I would be more than willing to see you tomorrow.

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 7:31 PM

Paperplane Explorer <paperplaneexplorer@gmail.com>
To: treasureaisle@gmail.com

Man, you’re impossible. I will be in a Black Sabbath tee with a red moleskin in hand. Cool? And don’t bother telling me what you’re wearing. Just show up tomorrow.

“This one seems to be in order.”

“Yeah”

“Check the next one.”

“Yeah.”

DOC 3: SAMPLE, FROM M.S. TO S.M. (Furnished by PPEx)

Do you remember the double-boats I showed you how to make? The ones you always struggled with so much? My little one is now starting to get it right. He is still just six, but he is quite dextrous with paper. I think that is the only good trait I have passed on to him.

He has a temper, though. If he gets one fold wrong, or one crease the other way, he throws away the whole thing and starts over again. He was born to abundance; he does not know how important paper was to us. To him, paper is infinite, never-ending, always at his disposal. I would not want it any other way, mind you. I would not want him picking stray pages from his teachers’ dustbins. I would not want him ironing out a paper between two folds of a bed sheet. I would not have his heart tear each time his paper tore the wrong way. Those Dickensian realities were for us. For him, only abundance.

For him, words are abundant too. There is no end to how much he can tap on the screen of his little tablet; no end to how many pages the text flows to; no end to the ink he has left in his pot; and no end to the money he needs to buy more with. Here, however, I am sad. I do not mind him being careless with paper, but with words — no. He should know that words are not cheap, that letters are not easily given out. Words are time and effort and care. Words are promises.

I know I have not kept mine so many times, and each such time, I have told myself a different untruth to justify it. I need not remind you of them, but perhaps you will find a reason to disenthrall yourself from those days of sorrows past and visit us some time. My doors will remain open for you.

“This is in order too, Rats. The words match with the scanned copy.”

“You sure everything is okay with this?”

“Umm..yeah. Seems so, doesn’t it?”

“This is Doc 3. Not 2. Where is Doc 2?”

“Oh, yeah. I need to print that out. Doc 2 is the transcript of the first plane we found. The one in the book.”

“Okay, let’s get it printed, then.”

“Yeah.”

“And then, we need to sit down to take notes.”

“Yeah. Long night ahead of us.”

I looked at Rationality’s face again. It was swimming now in the mug of black coffee sitting on my desk. The coffee made him look like he was smiling. That’s good for him, anyway. He needs to smile more often. I know I have to.

“Now, stop staring at me and get to work. Pee-pex isn’t going to be waiting for us if we are late in the morning.”

Treasure Aisle is a new original fiction series. In this story spanning two literary decades, the books in a public library will guide a retired one-hit-wonder-writer on an impulsive quest for finding a reason to love again.

The next chapter is already out. You can read it here:

--

--

Minakhi Misra
Between Strides

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, Streetstrider. Cares about Books, Comics, Education, and Gender Rights.