Entrepreneurship Discussion: Brandon Morse

Adam Druschel
BetweenTheFrames
Published in
2 min readDec 5, 2017

Brandon Morse is one artist who I’ve seen recently that exemplifies entrepreneurship. Brandon Morse is a DC based artist and professor at The University of Maryland. At his event at UMBC I saw a few of his works including Giving Up The Ghost, Brownian, and Exit Strategy. His work is 3D animation and mainly plays with themes of entropy and randomness through computer generated algorithms. He creates all of the programming for the algorithms himself, and shows his work in installations across the country.

Through his use of coding, Brandon explores the boundaries and potential of 3D animation software to create unique and constantly changing artwork. In addition to the use of coding, Brandon also pushes the boundaries of video art by experimenting with the length of his pieces. Often, his installations are completely random and constantly unique for the entire duration that his work is being shown, which is frequently for days at a time.

Through coding 3D simulations for installations, Brandon Morse has exemplified entrepreneurship by establishing his own art style. I hope to some day establish my own art style, which I could then center my professional life around. One important piece of information that Brandon shared at the event that I plan on incorporating into my own artistic pursuits was the importance of networking. By networking, Brandon was able to enter many of his pieces into galleries and installations he otherwise wouldn’t have had access to. Overall, I learned a lot from seeing Brandon Morse’s talk at UMBC, and I gained a lot of insight on artistic entrepreneurship.

--

--