Philly Bus Trip

Michelle Moore
BetweenTheFrames
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2017
Crinoline Chair. Designed 2008. Made in Asia by B&B Italia. Novedrate, Italy. Abaca, polyester powder- painted aluminum

When I first walked into the room I was amazed by the collection. When going to a museum you expect to see paintings and sculpture but I was surprised to see furniture and modern appliances. I knew such things could be pretty but I had never thought of them as art until I saw the collection. Each piece was unique and beautiful in their own right but this chair is what caught my attention. This Crinoline Chair brought a sense of nostalgia to me as soon as I saw it. It reminds me of the 1990’s and how mine and many other parents took pictures sitting down, beside, standing or around the 90’s wicker chair. How the chair is shaped, raised up from the ground and the material is all familiar to me. That 90’s chair was a staple of the times and this Crinoline Chair is bringing it back but in a reinvented more sophisticated way. The asymmetrical break in the vertical lines going down that goes into the circles works so well for me. The organic shape of the circles and more open space from the geometric lines gives such a modern look to the chair. The simple white pillow cushion compliments the light brown of the abaca and everything is pulled together by the dark abaca at the bottom. This chair to me feels like the 90’s wicker chair has grown up just like the 90's children and is trying to show how ready for they new world they are. This chair is simple yet designer and could make a room new again.

--

--