10x More Effective Sprint Planning for High-Performance Scrum Team

Eiki Takeuchi
Beyond Agile Leadership
14 min readJul 10, 2024

--

When I used Scrum for my software project for the first time, I couldn’t achieve the expected results since I didn’t maximize the effectiveness of Sprint Planning and recognize how important it is. Scrum is designed to increase the product value iteratively, meaning that the Scrum team must increase product value in each Sprint. Sprint Planning is where the Scrum team clarifies why they must have the Sprint, what they will deliver, and how to achieve them. Since the decision-making that sways the destiny of the product happens, Sprint Planning is critical. If Sprint Planning isn’t held effectively, the Scrum team’s performance and product value won’t be maximized.

However, Sprint Planning is the most difficult Scrum meeting because it requires thorough preparation and in-depth facilitation skills. In this article, I will share with you how to maximize the effectiveness of Sprint Planning in order to increase your Scrum team’s performance based on my experience and in-depth research, including my failures and successes.

What is Sprint Planning?

Sprint Planning is one of the official meetings in Scrum, where the Scrum team discusses what to accomplish during a Sprint. If your project’s Sprint length is two weeks, your team determines what to do for the next two…

--

--

Eiki Takeuchi
Beyond Agile Leadership

I'm Eiki Takeuchi. I work as a Scrum Master/Agile coach. I regularly write about Scrum, Agile, and leadership on Medium. X: https://x.com/eiki234