6 Reasons Why We Keep Clothes We Will Never Wear Again

Declutter your closet and your conscience

Alice Vuong
Beyond Fear

--

Image by Steve Adcock from Pixabay

I keep trying to clean out my closet with very little success. My wardrobe does not look any smaller despite me constantly purging it. The truth is I have a few items I’ve kept around even though I haven’t worn them in months, possibly years.

I have reasons why I keep them around, usually because I think I’ll wear them or feel guilty about tossing them. My reasons have kept me from minimizing my closet as much as I would like.

There is a multitude of reasons why you might keep clothes you never wear. Here might be some of them:

1. You’re a dieter

If you’re constantly on a diet and your weight yo-yo’s, there’s a chance you have clothes in a variety of sizes. You keep clothes thinking you’ll wear them when you’re at your goal weight but you also have clothes in case you gain weight. As a result you have clothes that don’t fit properly. Ever.

If you’re not a dieter and your weight has been consistent your entire life, get rid of the clothes that no longer fit. With the exception of being pregnant, it’s unlikely you’ll fit them anymore. I have a few pairs of pants that no longer fit me post-pregnancy. My body has changed forever and I know I won’t…

--

--