#24 | Timing my Writing

Rahul Rangnekar
Beyond Limits
Published in
2 min readAug 14, 2017

I need to (re)start doing this. I feel that since I’ve started writing daily, I’ve stopped trying to push myself to write longer, more quality in-depth articles. Case in point, I haven’t written a weekly (well, not anymore) summer reflection in over three weeks. This is my 24th post.

Furthermore, I feel like I’m holding myself to lower standards in my writing. Sure I’m being more open and vulnerable through a daily post, but I’m not pushing myself to write quality. This is just whatever’s on my mind at the end of the day before I go to bed. I’m not dedicating special time in the day/week to write.

So there’s a trade-off. Do I write consistently low-quality posts that make me proud to stick to a schedule and give a more true sense of who I am? Or do write occasional high-quality articles that simply capture the highlights of my life, not giving you (the reader) my full perspective?

Or a third option: do both. Write these daily posts but keep long-term articles in queue to write. Put 10 or 20 minutes aside to write every day for the 100-day challenge. Schedule 2 or 3 hours on 2 or 3 days to draft, write, edit, and publish a longer, weekly article.

The third option would be me going all-in on writing, not leaving me time to mess around if I am to do the things soon-to-be more important in my life — academics, studying, and full-time job recruitment.

The first few weeks of the coming semester will force me to decide what I want to do about this challenge and my weekly articles. I’m hoping it turns out well.

Today, I’m thankful for writing. It’s alleviated a lot of mental build-ups and been a constant in my life. It’s been my new keystone habit for these past couple weeks, replacing exercise as I continue to recover. Hopefully it can stay my keystone when school starts.

--

--

Rahul Rangnekar
Beyond Limits

Software Developer && Writer, UC Berkeley Computer Science & Economics graduate