#31 | Playing it by ear

Rahul Rangnekar
Beyond Limits
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2017

We live to adapt to our surroundings. We take in new information and given that information, we put out something unique. Relatively few decisions remain the same when new knowledge is gained.

Coming into this school year, I had a list of things I wanted to do each day to put myself on a path to success. It included reviewing 5 restaurants on Yelp every morning until I was caught up and writing every night. Just 5 days into the semester, I’ve abandoned those plans.

I achieved Yelp Elite today! I reached a goal I was working towards all summer, and it finally paid off!

Now that I’ve achieved it, I don’t feel as inclined to put in a copious amount of time each day to maintain it. I can drop down to 1 or 2 reviews per day and still be happy that I’m giving back and staying active to a community I love. Furthermore, I’ll get time to work on my other projects.

Writing every day has also been very taxing and time-consuming. I brought this up a few posts ago: writing every day means that I’m not putting in as much time or effort into putting out something good. I’m just half-assing posts so that I can boast consistency without quality.

That may have been good to build confidence and a routine habit, but I’m confident enough in myself to not let go my passion and need for writing. So, I’m going to start writing these “daily” posts on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, with a longer, more interesting article on Sundays.

I spent around 4 hours yesterday (Saturday) writing an intense article on my software development internship this past summer, which made me realize how much I missed putting out quality articles. Hopefully you’ll see the article on HackerNoon in the coming days.

Tonight I’m thankful for side projects. Life would not be fun or meaningful without them. I’m also thankful for Netflix’s The Defenders. I promised myself I wouldn’t watch too much TV, but I’ll fit in an episode a day while cooking because I can.

--

--

Rahul Rangnekar
Beyond Limits

Software Developer && Writer, UC Berkeley Computer Science & Economics graduate