Healed of God-Knows-What

My health ordeal

Matthew Prince
Beyond Pen and Paper

--

Photo by Carolina Heza on Unsplash

I could feel blood dripping down the walls of my chest. The sensation was like a tickle on the inside. I may have burst a vein or an artery. My mind was racing. I couldn’t understand what was happening. I grabbed my chest with both hands, one overlapping the other like a doctor performing cardiopulmonary resuscitation on himself. I limped, then I stopped walking. I was trying to breathe deeply. Calm down, Prince! calm down, Prince!

Sometimes, this weird sensation is like a sting of a bee, sharp and instantaneous. It leaves a paralyzing fear. Maybe I was about to die, I thought, or I might wake one day, but not in this life that I know.

I was 18 years, in my last year in senior secondary school. I was looking forward to graduating and gaining admission into the University to study Medicine and Surgery. And as it always is when you are looking forward to something, time dawdles. For some months, intermittently, I experienced heart palpitations and strange sensations in my chest. I wasn’t sure of the next moment. My heart may stop beating.

As much as I was scared for the next moment, I didn’t bother to report to the school’s sickbay. Where I’m from, you don’t go to the hospital until you are bedridden. Nobody has extra cash to dash some silly doctor who does nothing but gives you toxic western…

--

--

Matthew Prince
Beyond Pen and Paper

I am a writer who is trying to understand the world. I write on philosophy, psychology, social justice, and everything else. For more info: princedet5@gmail.com