3 Best Productivity Hacks to Follow Your Tasks

Three Hacks That Help Me Follow My Written Tasks And Increase My Productivity.

Heba Almoaibed
Beyond Productivity
3 min readSep 12, 2022

--

Today, I will talk about the daily habits I follow to organize and arrange my day. To create a daily routine, I start preparing a schedule of the tasks I want to do during my day by writing them or making a To-Do list.

The main issue is not writing the tasks down but how we use effective scheduling to keep them progressing and get them done. This process might be difficult and unrealistic, but we can develop it with practice to create habits that are done by default in our systems.

Photo by Renáta-Adrienn on Unsplash

Here are the three most important hacks that help me follow my written tasks and complete them within time:

1. Simple & Realistic

The first and most important starting point for task scheduling is to create simple and realistic tasks. We must know that 24 hours in our day may not accommodate everything we want to do, and if we subtract 8 to 9 hours of sleep, work or study times, exercise, eating, and social times that we allocate for visits to family and friends, not to mention the sudden circumstances that may occur in our days. Suppose how many of the twenty-four hours will remain?

Is it possible to complete 15 or 20 tasks in a day? Especially if they are tough tasks and require adequate time for completion.

The number of tasks may differ from one to the other according to day flow, life matters, and the nature of work. Therefore, every person can estimate how his day passes and determine an appropriate number of tasks per day. And if there remains unscheduled time, we can allocate it to ourselves and our hobbies as a reward for our daily achievements.

2. Properties

Secondly, the tasks -in the schedule- must be arranged in order of priority.

What is the task that you must accomplish today? And what are the tasks that can be postponed or delayed?

For example, if you are at the university and there is a deadline this week, you must finish it first. Then you can start with the least important ones which do not affect your goals significantly, such as working on a project with a deadline at the end of the year.

3. Flexibility: Stop Being Hard On Yourself

While you track your progress and task completion, you think your options are limited to two. You can stress yourself enormously and hold yourself accountable—or you can let things pile up and be delayed.

No blame here because I’m also still trying to balance these two, whilst I try to remind myself that the daily tasks and the scheduling are a promise or commitment between me and myself. One day they will lead me toward my goals, and it is o.k. for me to take my time until I reach my destination.

Stress affects our psyche, strength, and energy, and not to mention it affects our pleasure while performing the tasks we love! We must feel the happiness of achievement while focusing on our long-term plans and give ourselves the right to rest, especially after a period of pressure or piled-up work beyond our control.

Consistency means that I do not stop for the whole year, consistency means that no matter how I find things that stopped me, I always find something that brings me back and makes me continue on my way.

“The best of deeds are those that are performed regularly and consistently, even if they are few in number.”

Heba Almoaibed

--

--

Heba Almoaibed
Beyond Productivity

Interior Architect with a curious mind | might be a writer and a raising entrepreneur! | Design is the experience |