Apple Watch Ultra 2: A Day In the Life Of a PhD Student

Apple Watch Ultra 2 Review After One Month

Beyond Boundaries
Beyond T3CH

--

I received the Apple Watch Ultra 2 (AWU2) and the iPhone 15 Pro as a birthday present by my parents which I am eternally grateful for. Before, I had the Apple Watch Series 7, and I wouldn’t have upgraded on my own. However, they insisted that I keep it and as the good son that I am, I have worn it for the past month every day. In this blog I want to share my experiences and impressions with the watch.

Image by author. Shot with iPhone 15 Pro, edited in LuminarAI.
Image by author. Shot with iPhone 15 Pro, edited in LuminarAI.

Sleep Tracking

It is 4:40 a.m. and my watch gently nudges me on my wrist to get my lazy a… out of bed. What others might call crazy, I call the beginning of a functional day for me. My watch doesn’t seem to judge me either. Instead it greets me with a good morning on the screen and shows the current time, the state of charge, and today’s weather. 13 degrees Celsius is perfect for a run. But before that I’ll be heading for the gym. My watch still has 64 % of battery left although I charged it over a day ago and recorded two workouts with it.

AWU watch face. Image by author. Mockup by FreeMockupWorld.
AWU watch face. Image by author. Mockup by FreeMockupWorld.

I hit the massive Digital Crown and my trusty watch face appears. Compared to the Series 7…

--

--

Beyond Boundaries
Beyond T3CH

Top Writer in Productivity. Productivity, programming, and Engineering Blogs. Strong focus on tech. Ph.D. student.