Chad Breske to Celebrate “Home Run for Life” with OKC Dodgers

Alex McLoughlin
Beyond the Bricks
Published in
2 min readJul 18, 2023

Electrocution victim shares his inspiring story; Will be recognized before Friday’s OKC Dodgers game at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark

Chad Breske poses at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark. Photo courtesy of the OKC Dodgers.

Chad Breske was working his shift on June 12, 2021 as an electrical lineman when an accident changed his life.

Breske, of Choctaw, will be honored during the fourth INTEGRIS Health “Home Run For Life” of the 2023 OKC Dodgers baseball season Friday, July 21 at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark.

“Home Run For Life” recognizes individuals in the community who have overcome a significant medical event with the help of their families, physicians and health care professionals. To symbolize the end of their battle against adversity, honorees take a home run “lap” around the bases during a pregame ceremony.

Breske suffered electrocution but doesn’t remember much of the day.

“Not real sure what happened,” he said. “All I know is I woke up in the hospital two weeks later.”

When he woke up, the medical staff told him some unwanted news.

“They informed me I had to have my arms amputated because of the burns,” Breske said.

In addition to losing both arms, he also lost two ribs, his left ear and part of his skull.

“For the longest time I sat there, pretty much in shock,” Breske said.

Although he was stunned, he immediately got to work with his physical therapy at INTEGRIS Health and credits both the staff and his family as key reasons for his optimism.

“If it wasn’t for them, I don’t know if I’d still be around or not,” Breske said.

Breske acknowledges that the recovery is hard, but he pushes through for his family.

“I do have times where it is the end of the world, but I push through it,” he said.

After two years of continued therapy, Breske has regained a sense of normalcy and hopes to get back to enjoying his hobbies like hunting and fishing.

“I’m just hoping to be a better person and maybe help other people,” he said.

--

--