My First Published Piece, “Breaking Wave”

I earned a feature in the 4th annual “Patterns” Art Exhibition (special merit for painting and other media). I was so excited to be chosen out of 842 entries spanning 25 countries and 35 U.S. states!

When I initially created this oil painting, I was actually trying a technique that was unfamiliar to me- palette knife painting. After a couple attempts, I created this “Breaking Waves” piece. It follows a cool color scheme due to the use of blues, greens and white.

I highly encourage other artists to enter contests. You don’t know until you try!

“Breaking Wave” postcard

I do not publish behind a “paywall,” so read all you like.

--

--

Stephanie Wayfarer
Beyond the Brushstrokes

Stephanie is an artist and first responder. All stories are free to read! Subscribe for random honesty delivered to your email.