Alienoid: Return to the Future: The Korean Time-Traveling, Action-Packed Sequel is Here

Eunice Rabert Hernández
Beyond the Buffer
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2024

--

©Well Go USA Entertainment

Well, we can say that it’s technically here since it was released in South Korea on January 10, 2024, and everyone seems to love it as much as the first. I’m still waiting for it to become available here in the US for rent, or, if we are lucky, in theaters.

Alienoid: Return to the Future, the sequel to the Korean sci-fi action blockbuster Alienoid, continues the storyline with its characteristic blend of time-traveling aliens, Joseon-period sorcery, and a quest to prevent an apocalyptic future. When I first learned about the first film, I was hooked by its characterization, but I rented the film just because of its lead, Kim Tae-ri.

I love everything that she does.

I know that Koreans excel in movies and their entire entertainment industry, though mastering what they promised could have been challenging. But, oh boy, was I wrong to underestimate them.

It was so good!

This sequel is directed by Choi Dong-hoon, who also directed the first one. The narrative picks up where the first film left off, but I think that we will get a chance to see more character development in its main characters. Some critics didn’t like their CGI or the alien design, but I think that it was fine with me, and having…

--

--

Eunice Rabert Hernández
Beyond the Buffer

Hola! I'm a Cuban writer crafting a novel or two. As a top writer in some things, I explore the wild world of Cuba, Pop Culture, TV, Film, and Life. Join!