Leave It to Ryan Reynolds: Unveiling His Hilarious ‘Office’ Prank with John Krasinski That’s Breaking the Internet!

Eunice Rabert Hernández
Beyond the Buffer
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

©️Paramount Pictures

I didn’t catch the football game on Sunday – or any Sunday, for that matter, so I didn’t know that this teaser video was going around until last night. But then I saw Ryan Reynolds and I knew that this was one of his clever marketing tactics to promote something.

I was right!

He managed to mix nostalgia and modern cinematic promotion by reimagining one of the most beloved pranks from “The Office” to promote his upcoming film, “IF.” I believe that I talked about this movie briefly not so long ago so I’ll attach that here ⬇️

By now, we know that Ryan is the king of marketing stunts, and this video will do it again. It revives the iconic “Asian Jim” gag – an unforgettable moment from the show’s ninth season where Jim Halpert (played by Krasinski) tricks Dwight Schrute by having an Asian actor claim to be him. It was perfection! So what Krasinski and Reynolds did with this teaser serves as a bridge connecting fans of “The Office” to their new…

--

--

Eunice Rabert Hernández
Beyond the Buffer

Hola! I'm a Cuban writer crafting a novel or two. As a top writer in some things, I explore the wild world of Cuba, Pop Culture, TV, Film, and Life. Join!