10 Things Every Minority in Fort Collins Has Been Asked

Marissa Morton
8 min readFeb 6, 2019

--

Photo by rawpixel.com from Pexels

Let’s be honest, Fort Collins isn’t exactly a mecca for diversity. According to the 2018 census, the racial composition of Fort Collins was 83% white, 3% Asian, 1% Black, 2.5% two or more races, and 10% Hispanic or Latino of any race. This is vastly different than the national racial composition of 76.6% White, 13.4% Black, 5.8% Asian, 1.3% American Indian, 2.7% two or more races, and 18.1% Hispanic or Latino. This racial disparity makes living in Fort Collins very… interesting for minorities like myself in Fort Collins.

Because many people in Northern Colorado haven’t been exposed to different cultures, minority residents often deal with unintentional microaggressions. Microaggressions are verbal or nonverbal slights or insults (intentional or not) that reveal stereotypical, derogatory, or hostile thinking towards people based on their membership of a marginalized group. In my experience here in Fort Collins, these microaggressions are almost always unintentional but, never the less offensive. So without further ado, here are the 10 things every minority in Fort Collins has heard at one time or another:

  1. “Where are you from? No, like where are your parents from?”

For some reason, when my sister — who’s Hispanic — tells people she’s from Denver, it’s not a satisfactory answer for people. Their follow up question is almost always, “No, like where are your parents from?” When she answers, Denver, the interrogator is left with a look of bewilderment. Different cultural groups have been immigrating to America since the 17th century. That’s 400 years. So why is it that white people think that people of color — particularly bilingual people of color — must be first generation Americans? Even if someone is a first generation American, assuming that they’re an immigrant solely based on their appearance is problematic. Remember that when you assume you make an ass out of you and me.

2. “But, you’re not like realllly Black (Asian, Hispanic, etc.)”

Actually Susan, last time I checked, I am.

Often when talking about anything regarding race with my friends, they’ll throw out a casual, “Yeah, but you’re not realllly Black.” What does this even mean? Is having elevated levels of melanin in my skin not a good enough qualifier for being black?

Humans love to put people in boxes and I’ve learned that if you go against the stereotypes that people believe about a particular marginalized group, they have a hard time categorizing you. So because I enunciate my words and go to a predominantly white school, I automatically lose my Black card and am considered white. However, I don’t have the privilege of shedding my Black skin, no matter how “white” my friends think I am. To the outside world, I am still a Black woman. And biologically I am still a Black woman. So word of advice, don’t strip your minority friends of their race because they don’t fit into the clean cut boxes you’re used to.

3. “So what do you think about the wall?”

Yikes. This is a dreaded question for most minorities. Inevitably, during any conversation revolving around politics, the token minority of the group is asked to state their political beliefs on behalf of their entire racial group. Whether it’s, “Why did you all vote for Obama?” or “What do Asians think about immigration policy?” we’re expected to have a concrete answer about the unanimous opinion of every marginalized group in America. I don’t know why everyone thinks we’re all poli-sci majors, but we’re not. And we most definitely can’t speak on behalf of all Black, Asian, and Hispanic people. If you want to learn more about why this is so problematic, read the NPR article called “On Behalf of [BLANK] People Everywhere…”.

4. “Let’s go to Horsetooth! Wait can you swim?”

Horsetooth is basically a national monument here in Fort Collins. It’s where every student goes their first weekend in Fort Collins, it’s where natives go to hike and bike, and it’s where a lot of people go to enjoy sunny Colorado days on the lake.

If you somehow didn’t know, it’s a common stereotype that black people can’t swim. If you make this assumptions when asking someone to go to Horsetooth with you, check yourself. In fact, if you make any assumptions about anyone based on their race, you definitely need to check yourself.

And YES, I can swim and would LOVE to go to Horsetooth with you.

5. “How could I be racist? I’m friends with you!”

Imagine this: You’re sitting in a booth at Coopersmith’s having some beers with your friends on a Thursday night, when a conversation about racism starts. You’re best friend’s new boy-toy, Brad, doesn’t understand how people could think the remark he made at the frat party last weekend was racist when he’s sitting here at a dinner table with you, the token minority friend. Everyone looks at you.

This conversation happens to most minorities on a monthly, if not weekly basis. People love to defend their discriminatory, racist, or prejudice tendencies by saying that they have minority friends. Having friends that are a part of a marginalized group, does not excuse your microaggressions. Racism is thought of as outright and vulgar, but modern racism is covert and subtle. Just because you think it’s okay for us to share a table, doesn’t mean that you’re not a part of larger institutionalized racism, Brad. Oh and if you have friends that do this, cut them off immediately, they’re whack.

To learn more about the psychology behind why racists bring up their minority friends, read this: https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/the-inertia-trap/201405/why-every-racist-mentions-their-black-friend

6. “You’re really pretty for a black girl!”

I am still in shock that people think this is a genuine compliment. I’ve gotten this from girls, boys, adults, children, and everything in between. I don’t think people don’t realize this, but when you call someone pretty for “a Black girl”, or for “an Asian girl”, or for “a Mexican girl”, you’re insinuating that most women of color are not pretty. You’re saying that we’re the exception to the rule. So next time you want to compliment a woman of color, just say, “Wow, you’re really pretty.” Period. Easy.

7. “C’mon, why can’t I say the n-word?”

I don’t know why I still have to say this, but NO you can’t say “nigga”, or “chink”, or “ched”, or any other derogatory slur. Why? Because it’s a derogatory slur. These aren’t nice words, especially coming out of a white person’s mouth. Next time you want to say this word, ask yourself, why? Do you want to use a word that has been used to oppress and diminish people of color for hundreds of years? Do you just feel left out? Either way, these words are not for you and just because we’re friends, doesn’t mean you suddenly have permission to say them.

“But why can you say it?” To explain that question let me direct you to an article from The Root.

Now, move on.

8. “Where’s the best place to get Pho around here?”

Fort Collins has more restaurants per capita than any other city in the state, so going out to eat is a big part of our social lives. I love getting food with friends but, what I don’t love is when people ask me, “Where’s the best fried chicken in Fort Collins?” I don’t even have to explain why this is problematic right?

Don’t ask your Asian friends, “Where’s the best Pho?” or your Hispanic friends, “Where’s the best Mexican food?”. I’m not going to lie to you, we probably know the answer to all of these questions but, you still can’t ask us this, sorry.

9. “We are such a diverse city! Did you know Aquaman lived here?”

Fort Collins is 83% white. That’s a lot of white folk, just accept it. You don’t have to try and convince me that Fort Collins is secretly diverse, I know where I live and I don’t mind it.

But yes, it is rad that Jason Momoa walked these streets.

10. “What are you?”

By far, the most common question that any minority anywhere gets is, “What are you?”. Um, human? I understand what you’re asking when you ask this, but I don’t understand why you feel the need to ask it. What will knowing my ethnicity add to your life?

If you’re really that curious about my race just ask, “What is your ethnicity?” It’s not as broad or dehumanizing so, it’s definitely your best bet if you really need to know the answer that bad. In an article for the Huffington Post called “PSA ‘What are you?’ is Not an Icebreaker” it goes into further detail about why this is such a complicated question.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love Fort Collins and the people here. I could see myself living here for the rest of my life. However, there is a serious diversity issue here and with that comes some microaggressions.I know that people usually don’t mean anything negative when they ask me these questions, but it’s important for people to know that their words have underlying meanings. So, here’s what you can do the next time you feel the urge to ask someone these questions: don’t.

--

--