5 Best International Food Places in Fort Collins

Veronika Mirkovic
3 min readSep 12, 2016

--

By: Veronika Mirkovic

American food is delicious, but when you’re an international student you sometimes miss the food you grew up eating, especially when you’re homesick. Therefore, I’m going to help my fellow international students at Colorado State University to discover the best international food places in Fort Collins, Colorado, so we all can escape for a bit and find home — away from home.

PS. If you’re not an international student you can still read my list; because food is life.

Credit: www.bing.com

5. Rodizio Grill — The Brazilian Steakhouse

I am starting the cuisine cruise geographically closest to the U.S. with flavors from South America and Brazil. Rodizio grill offers Brazilian Steakhouse specialties such as Bife Com Alho, Maminha and Miolo Da Paleta. The meats’ seasoning is on another level, and I imagine it would take anyone hours trying to grill a masterpiece like that at home. In addition to the to-die-for meat, the staff is very professional and welcoming. Needless to say they definitely give you that “alegria” (joyful) experience.

4. Bisetti’s Ristorante

Crossing the Atlantic Ocean (not literally, but in our mind) and we find ourselves ordering Italian goodies at Bisetti’s Ristorante. I love walking in there and seeing all the details in their decor. It feels like you’re in a small Italian town and you never want to leave. And let’s not talk about the food. Or actually, let’s. Even though the food is “American-Italian” I would still say they hold a high standard. I was in Italy a couple years ago, and I would argue Bisetti’s Ristorante holds the same standard as the restaurant I visited. The Caprese is a must for appetizers and if you dip the bread in the remaining balsamic and olive oil you’ll be really happy, I promise. I would also recommend the Salmon Risotto for your main course. It’s simply amazing, and to confirm it they won “Best Italian Restaurant” in 2015, and I approve.

3. Petra Grill Mediterranean Cuisine

Continuing down the Mediterranean Coast we find delicious gyros and falafel, not only in Greece and Lebanon — but at Petra Grill as well. In addition to probably the best hummus and Kabob in Fort Collins, they provide rich Turkish coffee and Baklava, which makes it feel like you’re going home to a friend from the Mediterranean Coast, rather than to a restaurant. My parents are from Croatia and they’ve told me Baklava and Turkish coffee are popular treats in many countries around that area. Also, the owner has a tendency to bring an extra plate of something that he wants the customers to try and I’m not against it.

2. Bawarachi Biryani Point — Indian Cuisine

We’re leaving Europe and The Middle East and going to Asia! Our first stop is India, or in our case: Bawarachi Biryani Point, the Indian Cuisine. I must say I’m not that big on Indian food, but this place proved me I can be. The Chicken Tikka Masala is creamy and the spices are different and not what I’m used to, but in a good way. They offer vegetarian alternatives and lunch special combos. In addition, the food is so colorful and looks so appealing. Very Instagram-friendly.

1. Vietnamese Cuisine Young’s Café

The last stop on our world tour is Vietnam and Young’s Café. This is the best international restaurant in the city of Fort Collins. I’m not the only one that thinks so, because the place is packed with students every time I’m there (even though it’s kind of far away from CSU’s campus). I’ve never been to Vietnam or Asia, but I trust that the staff of Young’s are giving me the right portrait of the environment. When you walk in there, you feel like you’re not in Fort Collins anymore and I love it. The music is kind of mysterious and I like that the lighting is rather dark, because that gives a sense of calmness and harmony. Anyways, this is what you have to do: Order the Chicken Noodle Soup and Crab Cheese Wontons as appetizers and share the Sesame Chicken and Cashew Chicken with your friend. You’re going to be in a food coma for about 2.5 hours but it’s totally going to be worth it.

So… Off you go!

And don’t forget to thank me later.

--

--