You Want Me To Live Here? Then Fort Collins Should Carry These 5 Products for African American Hair.

Jalyssa Hendy
Beyond the Oval
Published in
4 min readSep 17, 2019

Fort Collins is like a second home to me because I go to college here.

But when I’m searching for products in what they call beauty supply stores, or even in the health and beauty section of Walmart, I can’t help but feel that there is only one kind of beauty. And I am sad to say that beauty doesn’t extend to African American women and men.

So, here is a list of five things that Fort Collins should put in their stores to help improve the idea of diversity and inclusivity.

Black Girl Drawing by Peer
  1. Ogx Shampoos and Conditioners:

Each shampoo and conditioner duo helps repair and rejuvenate your hair. My personal favorite, is the Nourishing and Coconut Milk shampoo and conditioner, not only because it smells good, but because it helps with elasticity (good for your curls) and hydrates my hair as well.

Ogx hair products by Google

2. Protein Treatments:

Protein treatments help prevent breakage, strengthen hair, restore elasticity. These treatments are normally used after you’ve applied chemicals to your hair (relaxer, hair bleach for dyeing). Personally, I like to use the Shea Moisture protein treatments. They work well with mixed hair, and it doesn’t make my hair feel too heavy after using it either.

Shea Moisture Protein Treatment by Google

3. Silk Pillowcase/Wrap:

Wrapping your hair is essential to keep all the natural oils in you hair, it also prevents the loss of your edges and damage to your ends. However, not every female (or male) enjoys the feeling of a migraine due to your wrap being tied too tight, therefore, the invention of a silk pillowcase made to keep your hair refreshed, damage free, and edges on fleek.

Silk Pillowcase by Google

4. Palmer’s Hair Oil:

Because Fort Collins is close to the mountains, the climate here is dry. The effect that the dry climate has on African American has is dnegative. Dry air takes the moisture out of our hair, leaving it brittle and open for easy breakage. With a few sprays to the scalp (after you’ve sectioned your hair), the oil helps revive your hair and decreases your chances for a dry scalp. This also works if you have braids. The two main oils I’ve noticed that they have are coconut (used for strengthening roots) and cocoa butter (used for moisturizing).

Palmer’s Hair Oil by Pinterest

5. Leave-in Conditioner:

Leave-in conditioners help add another level of protection to your hair, along with providing protection against sun damage. A leave-in conditioner will provide more slip (less knots in your hair) for the detangling process and elasticity for the styling process. Personally I love the Cantu leave-in conditioner, because for a mixed individual it isn’t too heavy, and because I love the way it smells.

Cantu Leave-In Conditioner by Google

Becoming natural is a process, and this means you have to find the right products that not only fit your budget, but also fit your hair texture. But living in Fort Collins where these resources are limited can make the process even harder. I’ve turned to social media (Pinterest) to help find other products, and even give me ideas on how to make my own products to help keep my crown thriving in a town that doesn’t understand the importance of my hair just yet.

I along with other African Americans shouldn’t have to travel miles outside of Fort Collins every time we want to keep our hair healthy or styled.

--

--