An Insider’s Take on Happy Hour at Campus West Fort Collins

Kelsey L Hatcher
Beyond the Oval
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2015

To get an insider’s look at happy hour culture at Campus West in Fort Collins, I met with self-described regular Kelsey Christofferson on a Wednesday evening. Christofferson is a 22-year-old engineering student at CSU, and a loyal patron to the Campus West bars and shops. We sat down to chat over a beer at a bar of her choice, The Bar, colloquially known by Fort Collins residents as Barcade.

Q: Is there something unique about campus west that sets it apart from other areas in Fort Collins, such as Old Town?

A: I prefer it to Old Town for a few reasons. It’s definitely cheaper than old town. It’s typically not crazy busy like Old Town often gets, ‘cause I don’t like waiting in 45 minute lines, to get into a place where I can barely make my way through the crowd, and then have to wait forever to order my drink at the bar. Also I like the crowd that the Campus West area draws over the old town crowd. I feel like in old town you run into a lot of fake, prissy, douche baggy, I’m-better-than-you kind of people. Whereas at Campus West people seem to be more chill and relaxed. Just having a good time, not trying to impress anyone. Also I prefer Campus West because I know a lot of the bartenders there! So if there is a line, 9 times out of 10 I can skip it.

Q: If campus west is so cheap, do they have to sacrifice quality, in your experience?

A: Places in Old Town might be a bit nicer, more classy, depending on the place, but the alcohol is the same quality, and let’s face it, that’s the reason you’re going to the bars.

Q: Do you plan on going to bars specifically for the happy hour?

A: It depends. Sometimes I go out whether it’s for happy hour or not. It’s just an added bonus when it is. Other times I do specifically go out for happy hour.

Q: What kinds of deals do you like when you go out?

A: Wednesdays at MoJeaux’s is dollar beers, and buy one get one free burgers. That’s actually where I just came from. Anywhere I can get cheap food with my drinks is a plus. My favorite is “flip night” which happens every Monday at Barcade [The Bar], where the bartender flips a coin and if you get it right you get your beer for a quarter.

Q: How often do you get your quarter beers? Are you a good guesser?

A: I would say so, I get it 75 percent of the time!

Q: What is your favorite bar at campus west?

A: You know which one is my favorite!

Q: What makes The Bar your spot of choice?

A: I usually know people here, and often meet new people, make new friends. I like the atmosphere and all the games, and I know all the bartenders who are always really nice and they hook me up, they know exactly what I’m going to order, and a lot of times I don’t even have to ask, they just have it ready as soon as they see me come in.

Q: What are your drinks of choice?

A: Typically Blue Moon or tequila, depending on my mood. But sometimes I get both.

Q: How often do you find yourself here at Campus West?

A: At least a few times a week.

Q: So would you say you’re an expert on things around here?

A: Maybe not an expert, but I am definitely a regular, and I’m pretty loyal to this area because it’s always such a great experience.

Q: What is it specifically about happy hour at Campus West that makes it worth checking out?

A: The great deals and the great people! The prices for drinks during happy hour in Old Town are the normal price for drinks at campus west. So the happy hours at Campus West are just worth it.

--

--