Bomb or Bust: Fuzzy’s Taco Tuesdays

Natalie
3 min readSep 23, 2015

--

Happy Hours are conveniently timed so after work or class you can grab a quick (and supposedly cheap) drink and maybe some food. They are designed to be a social hour, maybe with your colleagues or friends, to let off some steam or give yourself a pat on the back for making it through the day. As a pretty broke college student, I am a big fan of Happy Hours and as a girl from the Midwest I know good food when I taste it. With that being said… I have a few words to say about Fuzzy’s Taco Tuesdays. It may be cheap, but is it worth it?

Fuzzy’s is a popular American-Mexican place among the Campus West community, mainly because they have extra-large Beer-Rita’s (I will admit they’re really tasty) and a lot of TV’s for sporting events. Fuzzy’s as a whole is one topic; I want to talk about the “deal” the have on Tuesdays. It sounds like a great idea, $1.50 tacos and $2.50 margaritas… nice and cheap. But, is cheap worth it when you have to chug water to get the taco the down?

I got two chicken tacos and a margarita. I’m an avid drinker of margaritas so to say I was excited is an understatement. I was very let down about the margarita because it was extremely sweet and I couldn’t taste any tequila. The chicken was dry but their hot sauce is delicious, so as long as you dump that on the taco it’s fine. Apparently the shrimp tacos are better but I don’t like fish, so maybe try those if you decide to go. The atmosphere was great; there were many groups of people, music playing and TV’s on. The place was busy but I still got my food quickly. I can see why people seem to have an addiction to Fuzzy’s simply because of the atmosphere.

I will give them props for their prices. Their normal tacos are $1.99 which is actually pretty cheap. But, that means they’re only discounting the tacos $0.49 which is barely enough to cover tax. In my life, that’s not worth going to a place on a certain day and time to get that special. On the business side, deciding which Happy Hour special to put on can be difficult. There are a lot of options and there’s a strategy to picking which special would benefit business the most. Fuzzy’s deal is cheap enough where I can see why people go there even if it’s not that big of a deal because if you get enough tacos &0.50 can add up quickly and if you don’t know the price of the regular tacos $1.50 seems like a steal.

I would probably come back to Fuzzy’s on a Tuesday just to hang out with friends, maybe get a Beer-Rita but not partake in their special. It’s a great atmosphere, but quick food isn’t enough to make me love their tacos and margaritas. Fuzzy’s Taco Tuesdays: BUST.

If you’re in Fort Collins craving tacos, I suggest you go to Dam Good Tacos. The name says it all. They have a walk-up window so you can either grab a quick bite or sit inside and enjoy the delicious food. Each taco is $3 so it’s still affordable considering the quality of the tacos. Dam Good Tacos: BOMB.

--

--