Breaking the College Town Mindset: Q & A with Christian Eaton

Emily Naill
Beyond the Oval
Published in
4 min readFeb 12, 2018
Source

Christian Eaton, 23, is a rock climbing enthusiast, energizer bunny, advertising wiz, and recent CSU graduate. Shortly after graduation, Christian accepted a job and thought he was, in his words, a ‘baller’. However with this new job not being all it is cracked up to be, and with new stresses and strains on his relationships, he reflects on the difficult year he has had. Christian was kind enough to answer my questions about life for the new grad with upmost honesty.

His interview took me through the ups and downs of his first year after graduation from CSU. From hating his first job, to breaking the college mindset, he answered it all.

After explaining the project to Christian, his excitement about this topic was apparent in his voice.

Eaton: Perfect! I have a lot of things to say about that topic as I have been like, pondering my life for the last few months.

Naill: Well that works great for me! Go ahead and tell me a little bit about how you’re adjusting to life in Fort Collins after graduation.

Eaton: I’m sure everybody’s experience is different. For me, I got a really sick job right before I graduated. So I was like wow I am doing really well, like I’m a baller.

Naill: That is awesome! Where did you get this job?

Eaton: Madwire! However, instantly, almost from day one I like hated it. It was not the environment I was looking for. I think a lot of me hating it [the job] was me trying to adjust from college. You know you just go to class and kind of do what ever you want in college.

Naill: Well anytime you can take a nap during the day that is ideal.

Eaton: *laughs. Exactly, but trying to adjust from that [naps] to a work schedule that is from 7am-5pm, is so difficult.

So, this job was long hours and also early ass in the morning. And trying to adjust to that schedule from college class schedule was really tough for me.

Also, I think one of the hard parts was that most of my friends are/were still in school. It was really tough trying to hang out with them because while they are all trying to do things, I am getting my ass kicked all day at work. I am just so tired when I get home and I don’t want to do anything. Not to mention, this schedule really screwed up my relationship at the time.

It’s kind of just a massive conflict of schedules and that is really tough.

Naill: With your friends still in school, did you notice other things that changed for you and stayed the same for them?

Eaton: I actually had some conflict with some friends because my schedule during the week was so rigorous. Essentially, I would get out of work and my weekends would be free. I would really want to go have adventures and go climbing and do rad things. My friends were like ‘whatever it is just another day of hanging out’, and just generally not motivated to do things. And here I am super motivated, because my time is really valuable now.

They were just not on the same page.

Naill: That definitely makes sense. So do you feel that the town of Fort Collins has changed for you as well? Have you tried new places?

Eaton: I would definitely say that the town has changed for me. I just feel like it is different. It’s interesting that you are talking to me about this because it has been something I have been pondering a lot about lately.

I have been having a hard time adjusting to living in the same place. You have to adjust to this ‘real world’ idea, while still living in the college town. Cause’ it’s conflicting. I’m supposed to be on this ‘real world’ path, but at the same time I want to still be doing the same things I did in college. Like going climbing in the middle of the day.

And all of a sudden I can’t do that.

Naill: Do you think that adjustment would have been different if you moved anywhere other than Fort Collins?

Eaton: I think so. I actually just received a really awesome job offer in New Hampshire.

Naill: Oh that is awesome, congrats!

Eaton: Thanks! I am really excited about it. I will be moving in a month. It should be an awesome opportunity. So one thing I have been psyched about is changing scenery so that I can mentally shift focus.

Naill: Right, and like you mentioned, now you have time to get in that ‘real world’ mindset.

Eaton: Yea! this quote on quote ‘real world’. Who really knows what that is?

It will be easier to mentally shift focus once I am out of the same [college] place.

Naill: Well, I am really excited for you! To wrap up, do you have any other comments about this topic?

Eaton: Maybe what I will leave you with is that I have talked to a lot of people who are in the same boat. The theme that I have gotten from everyone is that the first year out of college is genuinely really tough. It is this transitional period where you’re trying to figure it out. For me, it’s like asking myself ‘what am I doing with my life’. As opposed to what I like is my life figured out, it’s just hard.

--

--