Q&A: Danielle Dirks Corepower Instructor

Austin Caron
Beyond the Oval
Published in
3 min readFeb 29, 2016

With a strong passion for yoga and health Danielle Dirks decided to get certified as a yoga instructor. She currently works at Corepower yoga in Fort Collins off of College Ave. After I had attended some classes at the studio I spoke with Danielle and learned that along with being a yoga instructor Danielle is also a CSU student. Balancing school work, and your passion can be difficult so I decided to learn more about Danielle, and her love for Corepower and Yoga. We exchanged emails and I was able to ask her some questions about Corepower, and what sets it apart from other studios in the surrounding Fort Collins area.

Photo taken from Danielle Dirks

Q: How long have you been with Corepower?

A: I got certified last year in April at Corepower. Recently I just became an intern at Corepower, and have been teaching around 2 classes a week. I have to teach around 30 classes before becoming an employee.

Q: Have you worked at any other studios or gyms?

A: Yes, I taught a sculpt class at the CSU recreation center before I started working at Corepower.

Q: Having worked at other places, how does Corepower compare to other studios or gyms you have been to?

A: Corepower is committed to being accessible to everyone. The teachers and the community within in it are supportive of everyone’s needs and goals. Corepower not only focuses on transforming peoples’ bodies to meet the individuals desires but they work to help people find growth with in their mind and they everyday life. I personally feel like I make a personal transformation each and every time I step off my mat at Corepower. Corepower continues to encourage people to push themselves, and I have not seen that from other studios I have gone to. I think that I gain the most from Corepower mentally and physically. It incorporates meditation which I love to calm me down from my day, and it each class had different physical challenges.

Q: What separates Corepower, what are their beliefs?

A: Corepower believes in sharing a deep passion for the practice as yoga as well as sharing the means for living a healthy lifestyle. They believe that the practice of yoga should be accessible to everyone regardless of their level of physical fitness, or their religious beliefs, and want to demystify these preconceived ideas allowing everyone to experience the many benefits yoga has to offer.

Q: How would you describe the yoga culture in Fort Collins?

A: The yoga culture in Fort Collins is contagious and growing rapidly. I have seen tremendous growth within the yoga community throughout the last year.The people in the community are open minded, supportive, genuine, and happy

Q: Do you think people benefit from yoga?

A: I do believe people benefit from yoga both on a physiological level as well as on a psychological level. Many people come to yoga seeking to gain benefits physically but end up falling in love with the practice for the mental benefits it provides them with.

After my email interview with Danielle I was able to see her love for yoga, but more specifically her love for Corepower. She had gotten certified there last year in spring of 2015, but had made it a goal of hers to finally start instructing classes at her favorite studio. I am really looking forward to attending one of her classes at some point in the near future.

--

--