Corepower More Than Just Yoga (Review)

Austin Caron
3 min readFeb 22, 2016

--

Photo taken by Austin Caron

After hearing and reading great things about Corepower yoga I decided to venture out and try a class. I attended a yoga sculpt class this Saturday at 10:30. I am an avid yoga goer so I was excited to try a new studio in Fort Collins. I had my reservations though, after reading about the prices of the memberships because it seemed excessive.

I had heard about the difficulty of this sculpt class, but I decided to try it for myself. Right when I walked in and I was greeted by an instructor at the front desk. She was extremely polite, and gave me some tips about the class I was about to begin. I immediately noticed the optimism that circulated throughout the studio, which is important in a zen place.

The women's locker room was extremely clean, and with the amount of people walking in and out I was impressed. Having clean facilities in an exercise is essential. With weird smells, and dirty appliances it can truly detour customers away, and that was not the case at Corepower. If I were to be paying $120 for a membership every month my expectations would be high for the cleanliness of the studio.

The yoga class began and it was very warm and humid in the room. To say that this workout is difficult is an understatement. It truly tests one’s ability of “mind over matter”. The instructor was amazing. For those that have never taken yoga, do feel intimidated. The sculpt class incorporates yoga poses, but really focuses on strength. People may have reservations before attending a yoga class, but at Corepower the staff makes sure everyone feels welcome.

One thing that I would have changed was how the space was being used before the class had started. There were a group of women that had been loudly whispering, when the class should have been completely quiet. Corepower may want to stress that to “yogis” before they enter a calm and quiet area.

The instructor explained every position, so that everyone in attendance was able keep up. The class got increasingly harder, and the teacher kept us engaged. The encouraging environment was tremendously pleasurable to be active in. It was a very challenging class, so if you are looking for a intensified workout it is worth it. The teacher was hands on to help people better understand the positions that were expected.

Taken from Flickr (labeled for reuse with modification)

Making a yoga class personal enhances the ambiance immensely. The teacher had remembered my name, and specifically would call me out if I was doing a nice job. I thought that was a nice touch to the class, and definitely made me want to attend again.

This specific class was 1 hour, and I learned after that most classes last an hour. I thought it was the right amount of time. I probably would not have been able to go much longer. For me it was nice to crank out my workout in one hour. I would not have gotten such a good workout from just attending the gym.

I have never sweat so much in one hour, and I have also never felt so great after a workout. I would highly recommend this yoga sculpt class for those who love yoga, and for those who want to try.

It is challenging, so be ready to sweat.

Not only did I love that class, I genuinely enjoyed the studio. I will definitely get a membership at this Corepower in Fort Collins.

--

--